Skip to main content

PHIL_109-6: First-Year Seminar: Realism and Idealism (Zuchert): Encyclopedias and other Background Sources

Encyclopedias

Specialized encyclopedias are often useful for finding reputable background information on a topic, or obtaining a good grounding on a complex topic, such as a philosophical concept.   Here are several that may be useful in this course:

Borchert, Donald M. Encyclopedia of Philosophy. 2nd ed. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2006. Internet.

Craig, Edward. Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. London: Routledge, 1998- .  Internet.  Continuously updated.

Stanford University. Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. [Stanford, Calif.]: Stanford University, 1997- . Internet.  Continuously updated.

World Philosophers and Their Works. Pasadena, Calif.: Salem Press, 2000. Reference 109 W9273.

Beebee, Helen. Metaphysics: The Key Concepts. Abingdon, Oxon: Routledge, 2011. Reference 110 B414m.

Sosa, Ernest. A Companion to Metaphysics. 2nd ed. Hoboken: Wiley, 2009. Internet.

Holzhey, Helmut. Historical Dictionary of Kant and Kantianism. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2005. Oak Grove Library Center--Request Online 193 K16Zholz.

Thorpe, Lucas. The Kant Dictionary. Bloomsbury, 2015. Internet.

The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2010. Internet.

The Freud Encyclopedia: Theory, Therapy and Culture. New York Routledge, 2002. Reference 150.1952 F889Zfreu.

Laplanche, Jean. The Language of Psycho-Analysis. London: Karnac Books, 1988. Internet .

Gagarin, Michael, and Elaine Fantham. The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome. New York: Oxford University Press, 2010. Internet.

Reference Librarian and Subject Specialist

Bill McHugh's picture
Bill McHugh
Contact:
Library 2625
847-491-2175
Subjects:Classics, Philosophy