Krishna Subduing Kaliya the Snake Demon: Folio from a Bhagavata Purana Series, Northern India, Garwhal, Himachal Pradesh, ca. 1785, opaque watercolor and ink on paper, 8 x 10.5 in (20.3 x26.7 cm). Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, Rogers Fund, 1927, Accession Number 27.37 (www.metmuseum.com)
Berkshire Dictionary of Chinese Biography by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780190214371Publication Date: 2014This publication introduces the reader to emperors, politicians, poets, writers, artists, scientists, explorers, and philosophers who have shaped and transformed China over the course of 5000 years. In 135 entries, written by some of the world’s leading China scholars, the Dictionary takes the reader from the important figures of ancient China to Communist leaders Mao Zedong and Deng Xiaoping.
Biographical Dictionary of Japanese Art by Call Number: ART Ref 709.52 B615ISBN: 0870114883Publication Date: 1981A useful source for biographical information on Japanese artists starting after the Heian period when most art is unattributed to individual artist, to the 1970s. Artists are grouped by medium including the usual media as well as swords, gardens and textiles. Also included are diagrams of influence, a bibliography, and an index.
A Dictionary of Japanese Artists: painting, sculpture, ceramics, prints, lacquer by Call Number: ART REF 709.22 R645d 2000ISBN: 083480235XPublication Date: 2000
An Index-Dictionary of Chinese Artists, Collectors, and Connoisseurs with character identification by modified stroke count by Call Number: ART REF 700.922 S5211ISBN: 0810820919Publication Date: 1988This dictionary focuses on artists' names-- their transliteration to both Wade-Giles romanization and Pinying; alternate names and stroke count of the Chinese characters. Very brief biographical information is available as is the dynasty, but few more specific dates. Sources are referenced and the bibliography is in Appendix III.
Modern Chinese Artists: A biographical dictionary by Call Number: ART REF 709.51 S951mISBN: 0520244494Publication Date: 2006Covering 20th and limited 21st century Chinese artists, this resource is one of the few dictionaries to cover art under communism. Included are artists names in Pinying and Chinese, alternate names, dates, and home locations as well as brief biographical sketches.
- Union List of Artists NamesThis name authority is a searchable database of artists' names and their variations for use in clarifying how a name is spelled or represented. This is especially helpful in cases of tranliteration, or romanization. Less useful for more obscure artists.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowAccess point for the Grove Dictionary of Art and several Oxford reference sources on art and architecture. The Grove Dictionary of Art is the most complete encyclopedia of art available in English, featuring nearly 50,000 articles on a variety of topics including art movements, artists biographies, and countries. Articles are signed, include brief bibliographies, and images. Images are searchable and made available through Oxfords partnerships with museums, galleries and arts organizations.
Encyclopedia of ReligionCall Number: Available onlineISBN: 0028657330Publication Date: 2004Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. Includes several articles relating to artificial intelligence.- Encyclopedia of Buddhism byCall Number: Main REF 294.303 E564ISBN: 9780415314145Publication Date: 2007
Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism by Call Number: Main REF 294.503 B857ISBN: 9789004176416Publication Date: 2009
The Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion: Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen by Call Number: Main 294.303 L679X 1994ISBN: 0877739803Publication Date: 1994
Dictionary of Chinese and Japanese Art by Call Number: ART REF 709.51 M969diISBN: 0878172483Publication Date: 1981A Dictionary of Japanese Art Terms: Bilingual (Japanese & English)
Call Number: ART REF 709.5203 W111ISBN: 480870658XPublication Date: 1998
- The Heilbrun Timeline of Art HistoryThe most comprehensive and detailed timeline of art history, the Heilbrun allows users to select a region of the world, a culture and a time period to locate essays, detailed timelines including key events, and images of art objects. Lists of rulers are also available. Created by the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
- The Art of Asia: History and MapsCreated by the Minneapolis Institute of Art, the website features Asian art works in the museum. The most useful part of this site is the "History and Maps" link in the left sidebar, which provides links to information about Chinese dynasties, Japanese historic periods, and Korean historic periods, featuring maps and illustrated by examples of artworks from each era (held at the MIA).
- Timeline: Asia for EducatorsSimple, graphical timelines of Chinese, Indian, Japanese and Korean history with brief annotations describing the political and cultural aspects of each historical era. A project of the Weatherhead East Asian Institute at Columbia University and created by faculty and librarians.
Buddhism: a Flammarion Iconographic guide by Call Number: Main Core 704.94894 L888dXISBN: 2080135821Publication Date: 1995Divided into eleven sections including the evolution of Buddhist representations, the Buddha, the five Jinas, Bodhisattvas, Vidyarajas, feminine deities, defenders and guardians, and divine beings and deified historical figures. Abundantly illustrated with drawings, black & white photographs and color plates.
A Dictionary of Buddhist and Hindu Iconography by Call Number: ART REF 704.94894 B942dISBN: 8124600619Publication Date: 1997You may need to spend a little time reading the introductory pages to understand all the information this work provides. There arer no entries for deities, rather entries are for the objects, devices, concepts, rites and terms related to the representation of the deity.
Encyclopaedia of Hindu Gods and Goddesses by Call Number: Main 294.5211 C456eISBN: 8176250392Publication Date: 1998- the Illustrated Dictionary of Hindu Iconography byCall Number: ART REF 704.9489 S37ISBN: 0710092946Publication Date: 1984Entries for the deities and the symbols, aspects, gestures, poses, and objects that appear in their representations.
- Legend in Japanese Art: a description of historical episodes, legendary characters, folk-lore, myths, religious symbolism, illustrated in the arts of old Japan byCall Number: onlinePublication Date: 1908Black and white illustrations plus 16 color plates. Includes indexes in both English and Japanese.
