Research Guides: .Accounting Resources: Getting Started

Articles from scholarly and popular newspapers, magazines and journals.

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Search business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions. Features accounting trade magazines and scholarly journals.
Business Source Premier (business searching interface) This link opens in a new window
Search business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic events. Features accounting trade magazines and scholarly journals.

Accounting Research Network
From the Social Sciences Research Network. Contains white papers and journal articles in accounting, auditing and taxation.

Selected Resource

VitalLaw This link opens in a new window
Database contains Accounting Research Manager which contains accounting, audit, internal controls, governmental and SEC authoritative literature and expert interpretive guidance. The GAAP Library features up-to-date GAAP guidance that focuses on the analysis of generally accepted accounting principles. The Federal, State and International Tax Libraries feature the latest tax news and analysis.

Selected Databases

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Business reports in five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and economic and demographic data.

Associations

AICPA (The American Institute of CPAs)

AICPA, the world's largest member association representing the accounting profession sets ethical standards, auditing standards and develops the CPA Exam.

The American Accounting Association

The American Accounting Association is the largest community of accountants in academia.

National Society of Accountants
NSA provides national leadership and helps its members achieve success in the profession of accountancy and taxation through the advocacy of practice rights and the promotion of high standards in ethics, education, and professional excellence.