Music Resources - Vocal, Choral, and Opera: German
This guide is a compilation of resources to assist in study of vocal arts. The subject tabs will direct you to external links and specific scores, books, dissertations, recordings, videos, streaming audio and video and databases available to you at Northw
Call Number: MUSIC Library (Stacks) (MT820 .I84 2013)
Publication Date: Kassel : Bärenreiter, 2013
Contents: Vom Flüstern zum Schreien = From whispers to cries -- Die elektrische Stimme = The electric voice -- Singende Instrumentalisten und spielende Sänger = Instrumentalist singers and singing instrumentalists -- Mikrointervalle = Microintervals -- Erweiterte Vokaltechniken = Extended vocal techniques -- Das Vibrato = The vibrato -- Timbre -- Stimmfächer = Voice types -- Die Register der Stimme = Vocal registers -- Beweglichkeit = Agility -- Singende Schauspieler/schauspielernde Sänger, Tanzende Sänger/singende Tänzer = Singing actors/acting singers, dancing singers/singing dancers -- Improvisation -- Luciano Berios Sequenza III.
Notes: Guide to contemporary singing techniques; includes instructions for vocal noises, electronics, microtones, extended techniques, acting, improvisation, and more; concludes with a study of Berio's Sequenza III.
Accompanying disc contains audio examples of effects and techniques discussed in the text.
Includes preface by Sylvano Bussotti in Italian with English and German translations.
In English with parallel German translation.
Duden online includes 17 German dictionaries from Duden-Verlag, covering a wide range of topics including German word definitions, orthography and usage, names, word origins, economic and medical terms. Search an individual dictionary or across all 17 dictionaries.
A German grammar checker from Duden. Click on Text überprüfen tab at upper right, then type or paste in your text (no more than 1 page, ca. 1600 characters) and check for spelling and grammatical errors.
Brockhaus Enzyklopädie is the standard German language encyclopedia. In addition to the over 300,000 articles and 40,000 illustrations in the print edition, the electronic edition includes audio and video content and is continuously updated.
Designed to provide English readers of German literature the opportunity to familiarize themselves with both the established canon and newly emerging literatures that reflect the concerns of women and ethnic minorities, the Encyclopedia of German Literature includes a large number of entries on writers, individual works, and topics essential to an understanding of this rich literary tradition.
Drawing on the expertise of an international group of experts, the essays in the encyclopedia reflect developments of the latest scholarship in German literature, culture, and history and society. In addition to the essays, "author" entries include biographies and works lists; and "works" entries provide information about first editions, selected critical editions, and English-language translations. All entries conclude with a list of further readings.
KLG is a standard reference work on contemporary German literature. Includes essays ca. 750 on writers, as well as complete bibliographies of primary and secondary literature. German, Austrian, and Swiss writers included.
NOTE: 1. You'll need to activate the cookies of your browser. 2. Access is ONLY to KLG-articles marked red.
Provides information about literary authors in the German-speaking world from the Middle Ages to the present. Includes online access to the standard reference works Die deutsche Literatur des Mittelalters, Deutscher Humanismus 1480-1520, Frühe Neuzeit in Deutschland 1520-1620 and the Killy-Literaturlexikon.
Biographical data drawn from the Allgemeine deutsche Biographie and the Neue deutsche Biographie. Multiple search options are available, including map-based. Project is sponsored by the German Historical Commission and the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek.
Common search interface to the electronic versions of the Allgemeine Deutsche Biographie, Neue Deutsche Biographie, Oesterreichisches Biographisches Lexikon, 1815-1950 and Historisches Lexikon der Schweiz.
Over 3.6 million short biographical entries for individuals who lived across the world from ancient times to the present. Entries also include citations to the original reference works in which information on that individual appears, and the location of that source work in the companion biographical archives microfiche collection, most of which is owned by the Northwestern University Library. Especially valuable for locating information on hard-to-find individuals from the past.
Do you need to find the German word when you're not quite sure of the English? Try a pictorial dictionary! They allow browsing by topic (e.g., birds, sports); some also allow searching.