Methods Explained
Juran's Quality Handbook, 7th edition by Call Number: Main Library Stacks TS156 .Q3618 2016Publication Date: 2016The cornerstone text on quality management and performance excellence - thoroughly revised to reflect the latest challenges and developments ... this authoritative resource demonstrates how to apply the right methods for delivering superior results and achieving excellence in any organization, industry, or country.
5th edition available as free PDF - verify with your instructor whether using this edition will be sufficient.
Juran's Quality Handbook : The Complete Guide to Performance Excellence 6th edition by Call Number: Main Library Stacks TS156 .Q3618 2010Publication Date: 2010The definitive quality management compendium.
5th edition available as free PDF - verify with your instructor whether using this edition will be sufficient.
Evaluating Clinical Research by Call Number: NUL ebookISBN: 9780387728988Publication Date: 2007This book aims to make the readers better informed and more critical consumers of clinical research. It will help the reader recognize the strengths and the weaknesses of scientific publications. In doing so, the reader will be able to distinguish patient-important and methodologically sound studies from those having limitations in design, conduct and interpretation. The text is basic and has no statistical formulas. Key take-home messages are listed at the end of each chapter. Cartoons make the text easier to read and generate a few laughs, and they underscore specific points, sometimes in a provocative way.
Clinical Trials, 2nd edition by Call Number: Galter Health Sciences Library & Learning Center Stacks QV 771.4 M514c 2012ISBN: 9780195387889Publication Date: 2012This fully-updated second edition contains a wealth of practical information on the design, conduct, and analysis of both single center and multicenter trials. In this new edition, the author discusses the refinements and improvements made to methods andprocedures, changes in the policies and guidelines underlying trials, as well as requirements for registration of trials. He also discusses current practices for data sharing, for gender representation, for treatment effects monitoring, and for ethical standards of clinical trials.
The CRC's Guide to Coordinating Clinical Research, 3rd edition by Call Number: Main Library 1 East Reference (non-circulating) R850 .W66 2016ISBN: 9781930624740Publication Date: 2016Encyclopedia of case study research by
Call Number: ebook (NU affiliated users ONLY)Publication Date: 2010Encyclopedia of measurement and statistics by
Call Number: EBook (NU Affiliated Users only)Publication Date: 2007Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods by
Call Number: EBook (NU Affiliated Users Only)Publication Date: 2008Encyclopedia of Research Design by
Call Number: EBook (NU Affiliated Users Only)Publication Date: 2010
- Sage Research Methods Core Collection This link opens in a new windowSAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. – Publisher - Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new windowA tool to help researchers discover the most relevant protocols and methods. It brings together content from SpringerProtocols, Nature Methods, Nature Protocols and Protocol Exchange.
Agencies & Organizations
Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
- Quality and Patient Safety. Content last reviewed July 2018. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Rockville, MD.
- AHRQuality Indicators
- Six Domains of Healthcare Quality
- Measures of Quality for Different Healthcare Settings
National Committee for Quality Assurance - provides a wide range of information, from which the links below are a very selective sample.
- HEDIS & Performance Measurement
- Quality Measurement Products
- HEDIS & Quality Measurement - HEDIS publications
National Quality Forum - the NQF mission is to lead national collaboration to improve health and healthcare quality through measurement.
The Joint Commission - An independent, not-for-profit organization, The Joint Commission accredits and certifies nearly 21,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States.
Quality Methods: Books
A guide to six sigma and process improvement for practitioners and students : foundations, DMAIC, tools, cases, and certification by Call Number: E-Book (NU affiliated users only)Publication Date: 2015 2nd edition
ISO 9000 Quality Systems Handbook by Call Number: E-Book (NU affiliated users only)ISBN: 9781856176842Publication Date: 2009
More books and articles on these and other quality methods are available. Use one or more of these subject headings as search terms:
- ISO 9000 Series Standards -- Handbooks, manuals, etc
- Medical care -- quality control
- Medical errors -- prevention
- Problem Solving
- Process control
- Quality Control Standards
- Reengineering (Management)
- Six Sigma (Quality control standard)
- Total Quality Management
Quality Indicators: Books
Medical Statistics from Scratch by Call Number: Galter Health Sciences Library & Learning Center Stacks WA 950 B786m 2014ISBN: 9781118519387Publication Date: 2014, 3rd editionProvides a practical foundation while keeping the level of mathematics to a minimum by clearly illustrating statistical concepts and practice with numerous real world examples and cases drawn from current medical literature.
Primer of Biostatistics by Call Number: Lurie Pritzker Research Library, Books, WA 950 G545p 2012ISBN: 9780071781503Publication Date: 2011, 7th editionA concise, engagingly written introduction to understanding statistics as they apply to medicine and the life sciences.
Statistics in Medicine by Call Number: E-Book (NU affiliated users only)ISBN: 9780123848642Publication Date: 2012, 3rd editionCovers how to plan studies from conception to publication; what to do with your data; provides step-by-step instructions for biostatistical methods from the simplest levels (averages, bar charts) to the more sophisticated methods (multiple regression, noninferiority testing). Examples are given from many medical specialties including dentistry, nursing, pharmacy, and health care management.
Vital Signs by Call Number: E-Book (open access edition available)ISBN: 9780309324939Publication Date: 2015Vital Signs specifies a streamlined set of 15 core measures which, if standardized and applied at national, state, local, and institutional levels across the country, will transform health measurement.
- Health at a GlanceOECD provides the latest comparable data and trends on different aspects of the performance of health systems in OECD countries.Where possible, it also reports data for partner countries (Brazil, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, India, Indonesia, Lithuania, Russian Federation and South Africa).