Skip to main content

Research Resources Forum 2016: 11:45 AM sessions

Cite Smarter & Manage Your Research: An Introduction to EndNote & Zotero

In an increasingly complex and fractured information landscape keeping track of your research can be an overwhelming task. Fortunately, tools are available to help. In this session we will introduce you to the bibliographic tools EndNote and Zotero that can help you organize your research materials and save you countless hours in the course of your reading and writing. EndNote can help you gather information from remote databases, organize and sort records and notes, and automatically format citations and bibliographies in a finished paper. Zotero is a freely available citation management software that works through a web browser. Zotero is easy to use and allows you to collect, manage, and cite your research sources. Both Zotero and EndNote can be invaluable resources to anyone pursuing research at the graduate level.

Jason Kruse, Liaison for Sociology
Geoffrey Morse, Liaison for Religious Studies and Linguistics

Forum Room 

Room # 2799

Location: 2nd Floor, South Tower

Loading

Research Computing Services

Northwestern IT Research Computing Services helps researchers across campus to make full use of computing resources and expand their computational skills. This session will introduce you to the software, computational capabilities, and data storage available through the Social Sciences Computing Cluster (SSCC), the Quest High Performance Computing Cluster, and NUWorkspace. We will also discuss Research Computing Services’ consulting and training services, which can help you get started using the computing clusters, learn how to program or use statistical software programs, create compelling data visualizations, and strategize about data collection, data management, and research design.
Christina Maimone, Senior Computational Social Sciences Specialist, Academic & Research Technologies

Video Theater
Room # 2712
Location: 2nd Floor, South Tower

Loading

Geospatial Thinking: Mapping Your Research

Geospatial science is a broad and fast-growing discipline that allows researchers the ability to analyze spatio-temporal aspects of people, places and processes. The principal means for studying this phenomenon is through the use of GIS or geographic information systems. The US Department of Labor has identified GIS as one of the three most important industries of the 21st century. This discussion provides an introduction to this increasingly important technology. This presentation will provide the basics of what GIS is, how it pertains to your research interests and the resources available to assist you here at Northwestern. Desktop GIS, web GIS, and how to locate data will all be covered in this presentation.
Ann Aler, Geospatial & Cartographic Specialist
Kelsey Rydland, GIS/Data Analyst

Library classroom B238
Location: Lower Level

Loading

Managing Your Scholarly Identity

Managing your online identity can make you and your work more accessible and insure that you are represented the way that you intend. This session will cover various profiling systems including ORCID and provide tips for refining and broadening your scholarly identity.
Steve Adams, Liaison for Environmental Studies,  Life Sciences, Psychology

Library classroom B234
Location: Lower Level

Loading

Digital Humanities Tools

Graduate students in the humanities often use digital research tools and methods, and this session will introduce a range of resources for undertaking scholarly activities such as digitizing archival materials, analyzing texts, spatial and temporal visualization, curating digital collections, creating multimodal narratives, and more.

Josh Honn, Digital Scholarship Librarian

Seminar Room
Room # 3722
Location: 3rd Floor, South Tower

Loading

Sources for Research in Music

Music manuscripts, correspondence, archival collections and rare editions of books and printed music are held in the Music Library. This session offers an overview of the John Cage Collection, the Hans Moldenhauer Collection, and the Fritz Reiner Collection as well as information on how to identify and use musical primary sources.

Gregory MacAyeal, Liaison for Music

CSCDC
Room #: 2699A
Location: 2nd floor, East Tower

Loading