Skip to main content

Research Resources Forum 2016: Main Library Sessions

Other Sessions

Please follow these links for information on separate sessions for students in the following programs Chemistry PhD, McCormick School of Engineering, School of Education and Social Policy, and Kellogg School of Management.

Main Session Descriptions for September 19, 2016

Area Studies Panel
Kathleen Bethel, African American Studies Librarian and Liaison for Gender Studies
John Dorr, Leader of Digital Scholarship Services, Liaison for French & Italian
Michelle Guittar, Librarian for Latin American Studies, Liaison for Spanish & Portuguese
Esmeralda Kale, George and Mary LeCron Foster Curator of the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies
Li (Qunying) Li, Asian Studies Librarian, Liaison for Education & Social Policy, and Liaison for Asian American Studies
Jeannette Moss, User Education Librarian and Liaison for Slavic Languages and Literatures

         This will be a panel session featuring Northwestern librarians sharing their expertise and insights into doing research and acquiring materials from various parts of the world

Beyond Northwestern: Research Libraries and Collections in Chicago
Harriet Lightman, Liaison for History
William McHugh, Liaison for Classics and Philosophy
Ann Aler, Geospatial & Cartographic Specialist

         Join Northwestern University librarians on a virtual tour of the rich resources available in libraries and repositories throughout the greater Chicago area. In this session, the instructors will look at the way the various libraries' web sites can help identify research materials. Included will be the University of Chicago, the Center for Research Libraries, the Newberry Library, and the Chicago History Museum, among others.

Cite Smarter & Manage Your Research: An Introduction to EndNote & Zotero
Jason Kruse, Undergraduate Services Librarian and Liaison for Sociology
Geoffrey Morse, Liaison for Religious Studies and Linguistics

         In an increasingly complex and fractured information landscape keeping track of your research can be an overwhelming task. Fortunately, tools are available to help. In this session we will introduce you to the bibliographic tools EndNote and Zotero that can help you organize your research materials and save you countless hours in the course of your reading and writing. EndNote can help you gather information from remote databases, organize and sort records and notes, and automatically format citations and bibliographies in a finished paper. Zotero is a freely available citation management software that works through a web browser. Zotero is easy to use and allows you to collect, manage, and cite your research sources. Both Zotero and EndNote can be invaluable resources to anyone pursuing research at the graduate level.

Copyright and Your Research and Publishing
Liz Hamilton, Intellectual Property Specialist

         What do you need to know about managing your own copyrights and navigating use of copyrighted material in your research? Throughout your career at Northwestern, you will be creating material to which you own the copyright: presentations, papers, digital media, reviews, articles, and your dissertation. You may also want to use others' copyrighted material in your work. This session will help you understand the basics of  copyright, what and how it protects, when to ask for permission, and how to prepare to publish your book or article. The basics of a publishing agreement and a brief introduction to open access and other emerging publishing and impact models will be included.

Data Literacy I: Finding and Working with Research Data
Kelsey Rydland, GIS/Data Analyst
Geoffrey Swindells, Liaison for Political Science
Anne Zald, Acting Social Science Data Librarian

         The Library's Social Science Data Services (SSDS) assists Northwestern researchers acquire and use data. Participants will learn about tools and services to help identify, access and analyze sources of qualitative and quantitative data. The Libraries subscribes to a number of resources to help you get started, including the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, Gallup Analytics, ProQuest Statistical Insight, and DataPlanet Statistical Datasets.

Data Literacy II: Data Management Planning
Cunera Buys, Data Management Planning Librarian and Liaison for Earth & Planetary Sciences, Math, Statistics, and Communication Sciences & Disorders

         Will you be creating new datasets as a part of your graduate school research agenda? Either on your own or as part of a research team? Through surveys, interviews, fieldwork or in a laboratory? Most federal funding agencies as well as private funding agencies require that a data management plan be created at the outset of a research project. These agencies and many journals also require that data sets underlying publication be shared. Session participants will explore tools and best practices for organizing, managing and describing your data to ensure its long term use and preservation as well as to ensure compliance with agency or publisher requirements.

Digital Humanities Tools
Josh Honn, Digital Scholarship Librarian

         Graduate students in the humanities often use digital research tools and methods, and this session will introduce a range of resources for undertaking scholarly activities such as digitizing archival materials, analyzing texts, spatial and temporal visualization, curating digital collections, creating multimodal narratives, and more.

Establishing Your Biological Sciences Research Workflow
Steve Adams, Liaison for Environmental Studies and Life Sciences

         The Northwestern University Library has vast electronic and print collections and a plethora of tools and services to help you establish your biological sciences research workflow. In this short workshop we will introduce you to advanced tools for searching literature, finding protocols and procedures for experiments, and sharing articles with your research group. We will also cover NU library basics such as requesting books and articles and accessing our collections from off-campus.

Geospatial Thinking: Mapping Your Research
Ann Aler, Geospatial & Cartographic Specialist
Kelsey Rydland, GIS/Data Analyst

        

Geospatial science is a broad and fast-growing discipline that allows researchers the ability to analyze spatio-temporal aspects of people, places and processes. The principal means for studying this phenomenon is through the use of GIS or geographic information systems. The US Department of Labor has identified GIS as one of the three most important industries of the 21st century. This discussion provides an introduction to this increasingly important technology. This presentation will provide the basics of what GIS is, how it pertains to your research interests and the resources available to assist you here at Northwestern. Desktop GIS, web GIS, and how to locate data will all be covered in this presentation.


Living History: Using Oral History Resources
Harriet Lightman, Liaison for History
Geoffrey Morse, Liaison for Religious Studies and Linguistics

         This session will explore resources for oral history projects. Major focus will be on two vast archives of oral history material. The Visual History Archive of the Shoah Foundation contains nearly 52,000 video testimonies of survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust taped in 56 countries and in 32 languages between 1994 and 1999. The History Makers Digital Archive is the largest African American oral video history archive in the world providing access to over 61,221 stories from oral history interviews with 1,195 historically significant African Americans are currently available. This session will focus on accessing and using these resources as well as providing some general information on locating other oral history materials and archives.

Managing Your Scholarly Identity
Steve Adams, Liaison for Environmental Studies and Life Sciences

         Managing your online identity can make you and your work more accessible and insure that you are represented the way that you intend. This session will cover various profiling systems including ORCID and provide tips for refining and broadening your scholarly identity.

Navigating the Secret World of Archives
Janet Olson, Assistant University Archivist

         Personal papers, institutional records, documents, historic photos, and other primary sources are crucial to research in most humanities and social sciences fields. However, these unique materials can be difficult to track down—whether in digital or in physical format--because they are organized, indexed, and accessed very differently from books and periodicals. This session will serve as your personal GPS, helping you find your way to elusive archival and manuscript collections through NUL databases and other resources, and steering you through the next steps of successful primary source research.
  Session Handout>

Psychology / Behavioral Sciences
John Hernandez, Web & Mobile Services Librarian

         This session will introduce students to key library resources related to psychological and behavioral research. Resources to be highlighted include APA-sponsored databases (PsycINFO, PsycEXTRA, PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, and PsycCRITIQUES), the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Annual Review of Psychology, and others. Some pointers on effective Internet searching for scholarly material will also be covered.

Research Computing Services
Christina Maimone, Senior Computational Social Sciences Specialist, Academic & Research Technologies

         Northwestern IT Research Computing Services helps researchers across campus to make full use of computing resources and expand their computational skills. This session will introduce you to the software, computational capabilities, and data storage available through the Social Sciences Computing Cluster (SSCC), the Quest High Performance Computing Cluster, and NUWorkspace. We will also discuss Research Computing Services’ consulting and training services, which can help you get started using the computing clusters, learn how to program or use statistical software programs, create compelling data visualizations, and strategize about data collection, data management, and research design.

Sources for Research in Music
Greg MacAyeal, Curator of the Music Library

         Music manuscripts, correspondence, archival collections and rare editions of books and printed music are held in the Music Library. This session offers an overview of the John Cage Collection, the Hans Moldenhauer Collection, and the Fritz Reiner Collection as well as information on how to identify and use musical primary sources.

Theatre Studies
Charlotte Cubbage, Learning Services Librarian and Liaison for Theatre, Performance Studies, and Radio/TV/Film

        

The world's a stage, which vastly complicates research in the information age. This session highlights resources for both textual and performance aspects of drama and theatre. We will touch on primary source materials, image and video databases, archives, and electronic texts. We will also view a variety of secondary source materials appropriate to the interdisciplinary nature of theatre.


Using Images Across Disciplines: Research, Management, & Copyright
Cara List, Head, Art Collection
Nicole Finzer, Repository and Digital Curation Librarian
Liz Hamilton, Intellectual Property Specialist

        

Visual information is an increasingly important element in the scholarly endeavor across many disciplines from art to zoology. This session will teach you about searching, analyzing, and using images in your research.   Included in this session are a primer on digital image standards for projection, printing and publishing; tips on management of your personal image collection; and important information on image citation and copyright within the university, on the internet and in the world of publishing.