Skip to main content

Readex Guide: Government documents

This collection of America's Historical Government Publications includes reports, documents and journals of the United States Senate and House of Representatives. Included in this collection are:

The Foreign Broadcast Information Service provides translations and transcriptions of  intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. These comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary.  Daily Reports and Annexes are included in the link below.


The Joint Publications Research Service Reports (JPRS) feature English translations of foreign-language monographs, reports, serials, journal and newspaper articles, and radio and television broadcasts from regions throughout the world. With an emphasis on communist and third-world countries, this database contains a wealth of hard-to-find scientific, technical, and social science materials translated from many languages. Coverage from 1957 to 1994.


The Access UN collection provides access to documents recording activities and decisions of the United Nations and its constituent bodies, e.g. General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, etc. from 1945 to the present. Searches will also retrieve information about publications from other UN organizations including the Environment Program, the Economic Commissions (African, Latin America, Asia, etc.) and much more.


Recent additions to Government documents collection donated by Readex

 American State Papers,
 1789-1838
 Serial Set 1981-1994
 House & Senate Journals, 1789-1817
 Senate Executive Journals, 1789-1990
 Foreign Broadcast Information
 Service Annexes 1974-1996

Read more about the Readex donation of materials to the Northwestern Library here!