Skip to main content
Faculty & Staff
Alumni & Visitors
Find, Borrow, Request
Catalogs & Search Tools
Explore our catalog, find databasess and journals, or locate books in our stacks.
View and access items set aside by your instructor.
Learn about our lending policies and procedures.
Requests & Interlibrary Loan
Request items from other libraries. Place holds on or request our items.
Scan or copy library materials.
Find subject experts who can guide your research.
Request a research consultation, instruction session or stop by our reference desk.
Scholarly Research Services
Get training and technical solutions for conducting and disseminating research.
Research Tools & Guides
Access databases, e-journals, research guides and more.
Contact a librarian via phone, email or instant message.
Find operating hours and assistance availability.
Events & Exhibits
Attend an exhibit, workshop or other events.
Visitor Privileges & Resources
Learn about guest access to materials and more.
Navigate our Libraries using our maps and book location guide.
Classrooms & Study Spaces
Reserve a study space, carrel, viewing room or classroom.
Technology and Computing
Use computer labs, printers, equipment and more.
Libraries & Collections
Reserve a Study Room
Printers and Printing
Book Location Guide
Libraries and Collections
University (Main) Library
Galter Health Sciences Library
Government & Geographic Information Collection
Herskovits Library of African Studies
McCormick Library of Special Collections
Mitchell Multimedia Center
Oak Grove Library Center
Pritzker Legal Research Center
Find facts, figures and procedures for our Libraries.
News & Announcements
Read about projects and more through our news and blogs.
Join our team as a librarian, staffer or student worker.
Learn about the working groups that make the Libraries run.
Support the Libraries
Donations of books, printed material or financial contributions are appreciated.
Contact the Library
Speak with a staffer, suggest a purchase or provide feedback.
GNDR ST 371: Hip-hop Culture and Black Feminisms (Roach)
Search this Guide
GNDR ST 371: Hip-hop Culture and Black Feminisms (Roach): Reference Sources
General Reference eBook Collections
Encyclopædia Britannica and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and research tools.
An extensive cross-searchable collection of online reference works, primarily dictionaries and encyclopedias, across all subject areas.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Online encyclopedias in business, education, history, humanities, medicine, religion and social science.
Oxford Reference Online
Online version of many Oxford University Press reference works, ranging from specialized dictionaries and companions to major reference works.
Searchable database of tables-of-contents and indexes from more than 2500 reference works and subject encyclopedias.
Subject Reference Books
Black American Feminisms: A Multidisciplinary Bibliography
Compiled by Sherri L. Barnes, University of California Santa Barbara Libraries.
Black Feminist/Womanist Works: A Beginning List
By Joya Misra, University of Massachusetts Amherst
Encyclopedia of African American music
Emmett G. Price III, executive editor; Tammy L. Kernodle and Horace J. Maxile, Jr., associate editors. Santa Barbara, C: ABC-CLIO, 2011.
Encyclopedia of African American popular culture
Ed. by Jessie Carney Smith. Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood, 2011.
Encyclopedia of Black studies
Ebook. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2005.
Encyclopedia of rap and hip-hop culture
Bynoe, Yvonne. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2006.
The Handbook of Gender, Sex, and Media
The volume showcases new research in media and communication practice and theory, offering insights into the complex set of relations that exists between gender, sex, sexualities, and the media.
Handbook of Gender and Women's Studies
London; Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2006. [MAIN Library 305.407 H2357]
Oct 11, 2018 11:00 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
Gender and Sexuality Studies