Declarations and Conventions Contained in General Assembly resolutions. Declarations and Conventions adopted by a General Assembly resolution from 1946.

Repertory of Practice of United Nations Organs. Comprehensive summary of the decisions of United Nations Organs together with review of related material, organized by Charter Articles.

Resolutions and Decisions:

• General Assembly Resolutions - current session, look to the right side of the screen for link to the Archive
• Resolutions, Decisions and Presidential Statements of the Security Council.
• UNBIS Voting Records Keyword Search - General Assembly and Security Council Resolutions

Proceedings
Indexes to Proceedings include checklists of meetings, agendas, subject indexes, and indexes to speeches by speaker name, subject and corporate names/country name.  Also available through UNBIS Speeches Keyword Search.

• Index to Proceedings of the General Assembly
  • Regular Sessions, 1946-present
  • Emergency Special Sessions, 1st, 1956 - 9th, 1982
  • Special Sessions, 1st, 1947 - 30th, 2016
• Index to the Proceedings of the Economic & Social Council
  1946-present; 2010-present incudes links to full text of documents
• Index to the Proceedings of the Security Council
  1946-present
• Index to the Proceedings of the Trusteeship Council
  1946-1994
  The Dag Hammarskjöld Library  has digitized most of the Trusteeship Council documentation, including the official records (comprising meeting records, resolutions, and reports), petitions, observations and communications which can be accessed in the UN Digital Library.

United Nations Official Documents System (ODS). Full-text database of United Nations documents since 1993, as well as resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship from 1946.

UN-I-QUE. Reference database providing quick access to UN document symbols, focusing on documents of a recurrent nature: annual and periodic reports of commissions, legislative debates, etc.

UN Meetings Coverage and Press Releases.  From October 1995. Press Releases are not official documents but provide timely information on the current activities of the principal organs and subsidiary bodies, including summaries of meetings.

UN Member States: On the Record.  Links to standard searches for Member States in UN databases with key documents related to membership in the UN; statements before the principal organs; draft resolutions sponsored; periodic reports submitted on Human Rights conventions, and more.

United Nations Yearbook Collection. Highly recommended as a starting point. UN Documentation is immense: the Yearbook provides a summary of key events and citations to important documents. Start with this for most UN research. 

The United Nations system of documentation is as complex as the UN system of Organizations. The Regulations for the Control and Limitation of Documentation define documents and publications:

• "A document is a text submitted to a principal organ or a subsidiary organ of the United Nations for consideration by it, usually in connection with item(s) on its agenda."
• "''United Nations publication' refers to any written material which is issued by the United Nations to the general public."

UN Documents are in other words all the papers, meeting records, and official transcipts produced by the UN as it conducts its business.  Many other international organizations -- for example the WTO, UNESCO, and the FAO -- also have systems of documentation.

UN Publications are material the UN publishes with the intent of informing the general public and the academic community about its work and issues it wishes to address.