Skip to main content
Faculty & Staff
Alumni & Visitors
Find, Borrow, Request
Catalogs & Search Tools
Explore our catalog, find databasess and journals, or locate books in our stacks.
View and access items set aside by your instructor.
Learn about our lending policies and procedures.
Requests & Interlibrary Loan
Request items from other libraries. Place holds on or request our items.
Scan or copy library materials.
Find subject experts who can guide your research.
Request a research consultation, instruction session or stop by our reference desk.
Scholarly Research Services
Get training and technical solutions for conducting and disseminating research.
Research Tools & Guides
Access databases, e-journals, research guides and more.
Contact a librarian via phone, email or instant message.
Find operating hours and assistance availability.
Events & Exhibits
Attend an exhibit, workshop or other events.
Visitor Privileges & Resources
Learn about guest access to materials and more.
Navigate our Libraries using our maps and book location guide.
Classrooms & Study Spaces
Reserve a study space, carrel, viewing room or classroom.
Technology and Computing
Use computer labs, printers, equipment and more.
Libraries & Collections
Reserve a Study Room
Printers and Printing
Book Location Guide
Libraries and Collections
University (Main) Library
Galter Health Sciences Library
Government & Geographic Information Collection
Herskovits Library of African Studies
McCormick Library of Special Collections
Mitchell Multimedia Center
Oak Grove Library Center
Pritzker Legal Research Center
Find facts, figures and procedures for our Libraries.
News & Announcements
Read about projects and more through our news and blogs.
Join our team as a librarian, staffer or student worker.
Learn about the working groups that make the Libraries run.
Support the Libraries
Donations of books, printed material or financial contributions are appreciated.
Contact the Library
Speak with a staffer, suggest a purchase or provide feedback.
ENG 101: Big Books (Grossman)
Search this Guide
ENG 101: Big Books (Grossman): Books...
Reference (Encyclopedias, Dictionaries etc.)
Find books at NU
Find books about MOBY DICK by going to the Books Images & More tab, clicking on Advanced Search, and choosing Subject in the Drop Down search box.
Borrow from another library
Fastest way to get a book from another library.
If you do not find a book/dvd in Uborrow, try Worldcat which allows you to search and borrow from major research collections in the U.S.
Books of possible use
Annales of England. chronicles of England : collected out of the most authentical records, authors, and other monuments of antiquitie, corected, increased & continued from the first inhabitation untill ye year 1580John Stowe.
In our library's Special Collection, printed in 1580.
Browne, J. Ross. Etchings of a Whaling Cruise with Notes of a Sojourn on the Island of Zanzibar; and a Brief History of the Whale Fishery, in Its past and Present Condition. London: J. Murray, 1846. Web.
Certain select dialogues of Lucian : together with his true history / translated from the Greek into English by Mr. Francis Hickes ; whereunto is added the life of Lucian, gathered out of his own writings, with brief notes and illustrations.
Early English Books Online 1663 version.
Cook, James. Cook's Voyages round the World, for Making Discoveries towards the North and South Poles. With an Appendix. Manchester: Printed by Sowler and Russell, 1799. Eighteenth Century Collections Online.
Pardes, Ilana., and Ebrary, Inc. Melville's Bibles / Ilana Pardes. Berkeley: U of California, 2008. Web.
Edwards, Mary K. Bercaw. Melville's Sources / Mary K. Bercaw. Evanston, Ill.: Northwestern UP, 1987. Print.
The philosophy commonly called, the Morals written by the learned philosopher Plutarch of Chaeronea. Translated out of Greek into English, and conferred with the Latine translations and the French, by Philemon Holland, doctor of physick. Whereunto are ann
Early English Books Online.
The philosophy commonly called The morals / written by the learned philosopher Plutarch of Chaeronea ; translated out of Greek into English, and conferred with the Latine translations and the French, by Philemon Holland. Plutarch. London
1657 edition available to look at in Special Collections (Deering 3rd floor)
The Whale and His Captors
Cheever, Henry T. The Whale and His Captors; Or, The Whaleman's Adventures, and the Whale's Biography as Gathered on the Homeward Cruise of the "Commodore Preble.". New York: Harper & Brothers, 1850. Hathi Trust. Online.
The works of Francis Rabelais. François Rabelais approximately 1490-1553. London, J.R. Smith, J. Miller, 1844
Hathi Trust. Online, books 3-4.
Reference (Encyclopedias, Dictionaries etc.) >>
Aug 14, 2018 11:38 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.