Skip to main content

Historical News Sources: Archive of Americana (Readex)

Read about the Readex donation of materials to the Northwestern Library here!

Overview

The Archive of Americana provides online access to millions of pages of primary source documents including newspapers, books, broadsides, ephemera, and government publications. Below are descriptions of the various collections included in the Archive of American.

Newspapers

The Historical Newspapers component of the Archive of American includes over 300 years worth of content from major newspapers as well as papers focused on specific audiences such as African American Newspapers, Ethnic American Newspapers, Caribbean Newspapers, and Hispanic Newspapers. Please follow the linked titles to access specific collections:

Title lists

Below are links to title lists included in each collection.

Hisotrical Imprints

America's Historical Government Publications

This collection includes reports, documents and journals of the United States Senate and House of Representatives. Included in this collection are:

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995, features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.

Read about the Readex donation of materials to the Northwestern Library here!