Skip to main content
Faculty & Staff
Alumni & Visitors
Find, Borrow, Request
Catalogs & Search Tools
Explore our catalog, find databasess and journals, or locate books in our stacks.
View and access items set aside by your instructor.
Learn about our lending policies and procedures.
Requests & Interlibrary Loan
Request items from other libraries. Place holds on or request our items.
Scan or copy library materials.
Book Location Guide
Find subject experts who can guide your research.
Request a research consultation, instruction session or stop by our reference desk.
Scholarly Research Services
Get training and technical solutions for conducting and disseminating research.
Teaching with the Libraries
Support student research with customized course instruction.
Research Tools & Guides
Access databases, e-journals, research guides and more.
Contact a librarian via phone, email or instant message.
Find operating hours and assistance availability.
Events & Exhibits
Attend an exhibit, workshop or other events.
Visitor Privileges & Resources
Learn about guest access to materials and more.
Navigate our Libraries using our maps and book location guide.
Classrooms & Study Spaces
Reserve a study space, carrel, viewing room or classroom.
Technology and Computing
Use computer labs, printers, equipment and more.
Libraries & Collections
Reserve a Study Room
Printers and Printing
Book Location Guide
Libraries and Collections
University (Main) Library
Galter Health Sciences Library
Government & Geographic Information Collection
Herskovits Library of African Studies
McCormick Library of Special Collections
Mitchell Multimedia Center
Oak Grove Library Center
Pritzker Legal Research Center
Find facts, figures and procedures for our Libraries.
News & Announcements
Read about projects and more through our news and blogs.
Join our team as a librarian, staffer or student worker.
Learn about the working groups that make the Libraries run.
Support the Libraries
Donations of books, printed material or financial contributions are appreciated.
Contact the Library
Speak with a staffer, suggest a purchase or provide feedback.
ENG 101: Victorian Violence (Jafri)
Search this Guide
ENG 101: Victorian Violence (Jafri): Getting Started
19th Century Journals
19th Century British Newspapers
Find Books, DVDs etc.
Primary Source Databases
Image from LONDON LOWLIFE
Find Scholarly Articles
MLA International Bibliography
Find scholarly articles about literature including the Brontes, Mary Elizabeth Braddon, Arthur Conan Doyle and Robert Louis Stevenson's works.
My favorite book in this class is
Lady Audley's Secret
Sign of Four
Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde
Wuthering Heights: 3 votes (9.68%)
Lady Audley's Secret: 7 votes (22.58%)
Sign of Four: 15 votes (48.39%)
Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde: 6 votes (19.35%)
Total Votes: 31
Before this class I had read a novel written in the 19th century
Yes: 17 votes (73.91%)
No: 6 votes (26.09%)
Total Votes: 23
The last time I wrote a paper requiring outside research was
more than a year ago
Last summer: 5 votes (20.83%)
Last year: 11 votes (45.83%)
more than a year ago: 4 votes (16.67%)
Never: 4 votes (16.67%)
Total Votes: 24
To conduct research I would first use
an Ebsco database
I've never had to conduct research
Google: 10 votes (41.67%)
JSTOR: 3 votes (12.5%)
Lexis Nexis: 1 votes (4.17%)
an Ebsco database: 6 votes (25%)
I've never had to conduct research: 4 votes (16.67%)
Total Votes: 24
2 North: Core
1970 Campus Drive
19th Century Journals >>
Dec 16, 2018 10:07 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.