Skip to main content
Faculty & Staff
Alumni & Visitors
Find, Borrow, Request
Catalogs & Search Tools
Explore our catalog, find databasess and journals, or locate books in our stacks.
View and access items set aside by your instructor.
Learn about our lending policies and procedures.
Requests & Interlibrary Loan
Request items from other libraries. Place holds on or request our items.
Scan or copy library materials.
Find subject experts who can guide your research.
Request a research consultation, instruction session or stop by our reference desk.
Scholarly Research Services
Get training and technical solutions for conducting and disseminating research.
Research Tools & Guides
Access databases, e-journals, research guides and more.
Contact a librarian via phone, email or instant message.
Find operating hours and assistance availability.
Events & Exhibits
Attend an exhibit, workshop or other events.
Visitor Privileges & Resources
Learn about guest access to materials and more.
Navigate our Libraries using our maps and book location guide.
Classrooms & Study Spaces
Reserve a study space, carrel, viewing room or classroom.
Technology and Computing
Use computer labs, printers, equipment and more.
Libraries & Collections
Reserve a Study Room
Printers and Printing
Book Location Guide
Libraries and Collections
University (Main) Library
Galter Health Sciences Library
Government & Geographic Information Collection
Herskovits Library of African Studies
McCormick Library of Special Collections
Mitchell Multimedia Center
Oak Grove Library Center
Pritzker Legal Research Center
Find facts, figures and procedures for our Libraries.
News & Announcements
Read about projects and more through our news and blogs.
Join our team as a librarian, staffer or student worker.
Learn about the working groups that make the Libraries run.
Support the Libraries
Donations of books, printed material or financial contributions are appreciated.
Contact the Library
Speak with a staffer, suggest a purchase or provide feedback.
Legal Studies 101-6: Researching the Civil Rights Movement (Grisinger)
Search this Guide
Legal Studies 101-6: Researching the Civil Rights Movement (Grisinger): Finding Background
Finding News Sources
African American Studies
Last Updated Dec 8, 2017
3409 views this year
Last Updated Nov 13, 2017
294 views this year
Civil Rights in the United States
Waldo E. Martin and Patricia Sullivan (Editors)
Call Number: MAIN Core 323.097303 C582
New York : Macmillan Reference USA, 2000.
Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights
Charles D. Lowery, John F. Marszalek and Thomas Adams Upchurch (Editors)
Call Number: MAIN Reference 323.1196 G816
Westport, Ct : Greenwood Press, 2003.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present
Paul Finkelman (Editor)
Call Number: MAIN Reference 973.0496 E5592
New York : Oxford University Press, 2009.
Encyclopedia of American Civil Rights and Liberties
Otis H. Stephens, John M. Scheb and Kara E. Stooksbury (Editors)
Call Number: MAIN Reference 342.73085 E563
Westport, CT : Greenwood Press, 2006.
The Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America
David Bradley and Shelley Fisher Fishkin (Editors)
Call Number: MAIN Reference 323.1196 E56
Armonk, NY : Sharpe Reference, 1998.
Handbooks & Bibliographies
Black/White Relations in American History : An Annotated Bibliography
Leslie V. Tischauser
Call Number: MAIN Reference 016.3058 T599b
Lanham, MD : Scarecrow Press ; Pasadena, CA : Salem Press, 1998.
Protest and Place : The Southern Civil Rights Movement, an Annotated Bibliography of Selected Resources
Janice White Sikes
Call Number: MAIN Reference 016.32311 S579p
Atlanta : Auburn Avenue Research Library on African-American Culture and History, Atlanta-Fulton Public Library System, 1997.
Racial Justice in America : A Reference Handbook
David B. Mustard and Mildred Vasan (Editors)
Call Number: MAIN Reference 305.89607 M991r
Santa Barbara, CA : ABC-CLIO, 2003.
Finding News Sources
Finding Books >>
Nov 13, 2017 11:40 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.