Skip to main content

PHIL 109 What is Democracy? (Mueller): Encyclopedias and other Background Sources

Encyclopedias

Anglim, Christopher. Religion and Law in America: An Encyclopedic Dictionary. Second ed. New York: Grey House Publishing, 2009.

Batten, Donna. Gale Encyclopedia of American Law. 3rd ed. Detroit, Mich: Gale, 2010. Internet  Covers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents.

Borchert, Donald M. Encyclopedia of Philosophy. 2nd ed. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2006. Internet.

Chadwick, Ruth F. Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics. 2nd ed. London: Elsevier/Academic Press, 2012.

Clarke, Paul A. B., and Joe Foweraker. Encyclopedia of Democratic Thought. London: Routledge, 2001. MAIN Reference 321.803 E561.

Condé, H. Victor, and Rita Cantos Cartwright. An Encyclopedia of Human Rights in the United States. 2nd ed. Amenia, N.Y.: Grey House Pub., 2011.  Internet. This resource surveys the legal protection of human dignity in the United States, examines the sources of human rights norms, cites key legal cases, explains the role of international governmental and non-governmental organizations, and charts global, regional, and UN human rights measures.

Craig, Edward. Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. London: Routledge, 1998. Internet.  Internet version continuously updated.

Gibbons, Michael T. The Encyclopedia of Political Thought. Chichester, West Sussex, UK: Wiley Blackwell, 2015.

Levy, Leonard Williams, Kenneth L. Karst, and Adam Winkler. Encyclopedia of the American Constitution. 2nd ed. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2000. Internet.

Schultz, David A. and  John R. Vile. The Encyclopedia of Civil Liberties in America. London: Routledge, 2015.

Stanford University. Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. [Stanford, Calif.]: Stanford University, 1997- . Internet.  Continuously updated.

Stephens, Otis H., John M. Scheb, and Kara Elizabeth Stooksbury. Encyclopedia of American Civil Rights and Liberties. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2006. MAIN Reference 342.73085 E563 and Internet.

Utter, Glenn H. Encyclopedia of Gun Control and Gun Rights. 2nd ed. Amenia, NY: Grey House Pub., 2011. TRANSPORTATION Library KF 3941.A68 U93 2011.

Vile, John R. Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments, Proposed Amendments, and Amending Issues, 1789-2010. 3rd ed. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2010. Internet.

Vile, John R., David L. Hudson, and David A. Schultz. Encyclopedia of the First Amendment. Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, 2009. Internet.

Vile, John R., and David L. Hudson. Encyclopedia of the Fourth Amendment. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: CQ Press, 2013. Internet.

Source Document Collection

Kurland, Philip B., and Ralph Lerner. The Founders' Constitution. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1987. MAIN Library 342.73023 F771 and Internet.  Compilation of the writings of the founders, and philosophical and political texts they would have been familiar with.

Reference Librarian and Subject Specialist

Bill McHugh's picture
Bill McHugh
Contact:
Library 2625
847-491-2175
Subjects:Classics, Philosophy

Office Hours

No office hours in the Classics or Philosophy Department during the intersession, but always happy to meet in my office in the library by appointment: just click on the link above.