Skip to main content

Research Resources Forum 2014: 9:55 AM sessions

Finding Primary Sources Online: Your Virtual Key to the Archives

Personal papers, institutional records, documents, historic photos, and other primary source materials are crucial to research in most academic fields. However, these unique materials can be difficult to track down because they are organized, indexed, and accessed very differently from books and periodicals. Fortunately, you can benefit from technologies that make archival and manuscript collections much easier to locate. This session will unlock the secrets of the archives by revealing how to find primary sources through NUL’s databases and other digital resources; how to use archival finding aids; and what steps to take after you’ve identified the resources you need.

Handout

Janet Olson, Assistant University Archivist

Forum Room 

Room # 2799

Location: 2nd Floor, South Tower

Loading

Resources for Theatre, Performance Studies and Drama

The world's a stage, which vastly complicates research in the information age. This session highlights resources for both textual and performance aspects of drama and theatre. We will touch on primary source materials, image and video databases, archives, and electronic texts. We will also view a variety of secondary source materials appropriate to the interdisciplinary nature of theatre.

Charlotte Cubbage, Learning Services Librarian and Liaison for English, Radio/TV/Film, Dance, Drama, Performance Studies, & Theatre

Library Classroom

Room # B238

Location: Lower Level

Loading

Art Library Resources

Join Cara List, Head of the Northwestern Art Library, for an introduction to the wide variety of resources available in the Northwestern Art Library.

Cara List, Head of Art Collection

Conference Room 

Room # 2628

Location: 2nd Floor, East Tower

Loading

Resources for Psychology and Behavioral Sciences

This session will introduce students to key library resources related to psychological and behavioral research. Resources to be highlighted include APA-sponsored databases (PsycINFO, PsycEXTRA, PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, and PsycCRITIQUES), the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Annual Review of Psychology, and others. Some pointers on effective Internet searching for scholarly material will also be covered.

Steve Adams, Life Sciences Librarian, and Liaison for Environmental Studies and Psychology

Video Theater

Room # 2712

Location: 2nd Floor, South Tower

Loading

Geospatial thinking: Mapping your research

Geospatial science is a broad and fast-growing discipline that allows researchers the ability to analyze spatio-temporal aspects of people, places and processes. The principal means for studying this phenomenon is through the use of GIS or geographic information systems. The US Department of Labor has identified GIS as one of the three most important industries of the 21st century. This discussion provides an introduction to this increasingly important technology. This presentation will provide the basics of what GIS is, how it pertains to your research interests and the resources available to assist you here at Northwestern. Desktop GIS, web GIS, and how to locate data will all be covered in this presentation.

Ann Aler, Geospatial & Cartographic Specialist
Kelsey Rydland, GIS/Data Analyst
Qiana M. Johnson, Collection and Organizational Data Analysis Librarian

Library Classroom

Room # B234

Location: Lower Level

Loading