Skip to main content

Classics 101-6: Ancient Roman Economy (Terpstra): Articles

Databases for Access to Periodicals

The databases on this page will help you identify scholarly, popular, and news articles, as well as other research, on topics for this class.

Finding the full text of an article

If the article citations you find do not include full text, click on the Find it @ NU link, which searches across many other databases to find electronic full text of the article, if it exists in the NU Library electronic environment. If we don't have access to that article, Find it @ NU will also provide a link to Interlibrary Loan, where you can order a copy.   If Interlibrary Loan finds that we own a print copy of the journal, they will send you an electronic copy of the article.   If we don't own that particular journal, they will need to get a copy from another library, which will take longer.

If you find a particular article cited in a book or in another article, or in one of the special encyclopedias listed in this guide, it may be  best to proceed to NUSearch and search for "journal title" in the Advanced Search. NUSearch will lead you to both electronic and paper copies of the journal owned by Northwestern.   If we only own a paper copy, it is possible to request an article scan of that particular article.   If we don't have a particular journal at all, or don't own the issue that your article is in, it is possible to request the article through Interlibrary Loan.  Keep in mind, however, that getting the article from another library may take from a few days to a week.

Alternatively, you can search the e-journal list (aka BrowZine) for the journal title, and, if you don't find it, request the article though Interlibrary Loan.  If we have a paper copy in the library, Interlibrary Loan will use that to get the article for you.

To find these and other databases to which Northwestern University Library subscribes, you can also go to the library homepage and choose Databases A-Z.

Databases for Access to Newspapers

Reference Librarian and Subject Specialist

Bill McHugh's picture
Bill McHugh
Contact:
Library 2625
847-491-2175
Subjects:Classics, Philosophy

Office Hours

No office hours in the Classics or Philosophy Department during the intersession, but always happy to meet in my office in the library by appointment: just click on the link above.