Skip to main content

Crisis: Ukraine: Governmental Perspectives

Resources to track events and research the origins and impact of the crisis in Ukraine.

Ukraine

The website (English) of the Permanent Mission of Ukraine to the United Nations contains recent statements by the Ukrainian Ambassador to the UN, statements by Ukraine’s Foreign Affairs Minister in response to Russian statements on the situation in Ukraine and general facts about Ukraine (including the Autonomous Republic of Crimea).

The Ukraine Government website (English), the Parliament website (English) and the Acting President of Ukraine website (English) also provide up-to-date statements about the ongoing crisis, such as the statement by Prime Minister Arsenii Yatseniuk on 1 March 2014 that Russia was in violation of the ‘Agreement on the temporary stationing of the Russian Black Sea Fleet in Ukraine’.

Russia

The Russian Federation’s Permanent Mission to the United Nations website (English) includes statements by the Russian Foreign Minister and Russia’s Permanent Representative to the UN about the situation in Ukraine.

The Russian Government website (English), the Russian President website (English) and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs website (English) also provide up-to-date statements about Russia’s involvement in Ukraine.

Autonomous Republic of Crimea

The Verkhovna Rada (Parliament) of the Autonomous Republic of Crimea has a functioning website (Ukrainian, Russian, and English)

United States

The White House website provides the latest Presidential speeches and remarks, press briefings and statements from the US Government, including information about the President’s calls to world leaders about the Ukrainian crisis. On 4 March 2014, the White House released a fact sheet on international support for Ukraine such as the International Monetary Fund’s activities to stabilise the Ukrainian economy.  A statement by the G-7 leaders on the situation in Ukraine was issued on 3/12/2014.

The US Department of State website offers information about US relations with Ukraine and recent press statements and details of visits to Ukraine by the Secretary of State, John Kerry. Secretary Kerry’s remarks in Kiev on 4 March 2014 are available on the website.

The website of the United States (US) embassy in Ukraine contains updates on the latest statements by the US on the situation in Ukraine, including the US President’s 4 March remarks.

United Nations

On 28 February 2014, ‘due to the deterioration of the situation in the Autonomous Republic of the Crimea...’ Ukraine’s Permanent Representative to the UN requested an urgent meeting with the UN Security Council seeking support to prevent Russian military intervention. Subsequently, two meetings were held: the first on 1 March 2014 and the second on 3 March 2014. Coverage of any future UN Security Council meetings will be made available on the meetings coverage and press releases page of the Council’s website.

The UN News Centre (European News) publishes up to date information surrounding ongoing discussions among disputing parties, including UN Secretary General Ban Ki Moon’s discussion with the Russian Foreign Minister on 3 March 2014.

European Union, North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), Organization for Security & Cooperation in Europe (OSCE)

On 2 March 2014, NATO declared that Russia’s military escalation in Crimea ‘is a breach of international law and contravenes the principles of the NATO-Russia Council and the Partnership for Peace’. The NATO website discusses its relations with Ukraine, provides up-to-date press releases on current events as well as transcripts of recent speeches and a chronology.

The Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) website hosts a number of up-to-date press releases about ongoing talks, including a discussion about establishing a contact group to help overcome the crisis.

The European Union website provides information on the EU-Ukraine Association Agreement and contains details about EU-Ukraine relations. The EU website also publishes up-to-date press releases and statements about ongoing discussions with the Ukrainian Government.

Government Information, Geospatial & Data Services

Anne Zald's picture
Anne Zald
Contact:
Deering 102A
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
anne.zald@northwestern.edu
847-467-6441
Skype Contact
Social:YouTube Page