Skip to main content

South Asian Studies: Reference

Dictionaries

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Free Online Bibliographies

Literature 
Amir Khusro Bibliography, compiled by Yousuf Saeed 
A Bibliography of Hindi Literature in English Translation compiled by Irene Joshi, University of Washington Libraries, Seattle 

History 
Primary Documents for the Study of Indian History, bibliography prepared by Vinay Lal, UCLA 
Select Research Bibliography on the Partition of India, compiled by Vinay Lal, UCLA 
Web Resources for South Asian History, an internet resource list, UC Berkeley Library 
Subaltern Studies, including the complete books in the series, and a bibliography of reviews and articles, at the University of Virginia Library 
The Indian City, 1700 to the Present: A Select Research Bibliography, compiled by Vinay Lal, UCLA

Women's Studies 
Guide to Writings by or About Women in Pre-Independent India, compiled by Donald Clay Johnson, Ames Library, University of Minnesota 
Indian Women and Violence, a bibliography, on the H-Asia listserv 
Literature Written by South Asian Women, bibliography compiled by Irene Joshi, University of Washington Libraries, Seattle

Social and Political Issues 
Conflict in Kashmir, an internet resource list, UC Berkeley Library 
Dalit Bibliography, compiled by Simon Charsley, Glasgow University 
SACW's A-Z Index on Communalism, South Asia Citizen's Web 
Human Rights in South Asia, an internet resource list, UC Berkeley Library 
Bibliography for Research on Human Rights in Asia, Akiko Hosotani, Univ. of Minnesota Human Rights Library 
Indigenous Peoples and Environmental Issues in India: A bibliography compiled by Robert K. Hitchcock, on the website of the American Anthropological Association 
Labor in South Asia, a paired bibliography and internet resource list, UC Berkeley Library 
Nuclear Issues in India and Pakistan, an internet resource list, UC Berkeley Library 
ProPoor, a searchable dabatase of NGOs 
Social Movements in South Asia, an internet resource list, UC Berkeley Library

South Asian Studies Librarian

Li (Qunying) Li's picture
Li (Qunying) Li
Contact:
(847) 491-3953
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston IL 60208
2 East, 2626