Skip to main content

Political Science, 101-6-20 Why are Some Countries Richer Than Others?: Articles

Journal Articles

  • Academic Search Premier
    An excellent index of a wide variety of scholarly and news periodicals. Searches of particular interest may include economic development and life expectancy; economic development, and literacy, wealth and life expectancy among others.
  • Academic OneFile
    Another broad database, similar in scope to Academic Search Premier. An excellent place to start searching for journal articles.
  • PAIS International
    This resource covers issues in public policy and includes indexing of journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more. The resource provides a broad perspective on social and public policies, from historical (Prohibition, civil rights, McCarthyism) to current (health policy, climate change, terrorism)
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
    Citations with abstract from more than 1100 journals in political science and related disciplines. Coverage is international is scope.
  • International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
    Bibliographic database compiled by the British Library of Political and Economic Science of the London School of Economics and Political Science. Contains bibliographic information from an international selection of publications (including over 2600 journals and books, book reviews, and book chapters) in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology.
  • Ciao: Columbia International Affairs Online
    CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) is the world’s largest full-text online resource for political science, diplomatic history, international law and business, policy formation, and country analysis. It is a full-text online database encompassing more than 400,000 pages of working papers, policy briefs, interviews, journal articles, and e-books in the field of international relations.
  • OECD iLibrary
    The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) is made up of 34m countries and its goal is to "is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world." OECD iLibrary. contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998. Can search by country for a variety of reports and information.
  • OxResearch
    OxResearch provides pointed and succinct analysis of current political, economic, and social developments in over 180 countries around the world. Originally developed by the Oxford Analytica consulting firm to aid government and business leaders, the source is now available to libraries and students. Over 1000 scholars at Oxford and other major world universities drawing on over 600 print and electronic news sources write these articles, styled after the daily press briefing given to the President of the United States.

Political Science Librarian

Jeannette Moss's picture
Jeannette Moss
Contact:
University Library
2 North (Core) Rm. 2303
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
847-491-2169