Skip to main content

Political Science, 101-6-20 Why are Some Countries Richer Than Others?: Reference Sources

Reference Books

Encyclopedia of the global economy : a guide for students and researchers / David E. O’Connor.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2006.
Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number:330.03 O18e
Volume 1 of this book contains essays on topics related to the global economy including people, institutions, issues, and historic trends. Volume 2 contains primary source material such as statistics and data. Essays in volume 1contain bibliographies and include titles such as Developing Countries, Development Economics, Development Plan, Globalization, Heavily Indebted Poor Countries (HIPC) Initiative, Race to the Bottom, and Regional Trade Agreements. Volume 2 contains numerous primary documents related to the global economy and development as well as statistic tables. Some of the documents include the Cairo Declaration on Population and Development, The United Nations Millennium Declaration, The Rio Declaration on Environment and Development, and the Doha Development Agenda among many others.
The Princeton encyclopedia of the world economy / editors in chief, Kenneth A. Reinert, Ramkishen S. Rajan ; associate editors, Amy Jocelyn Glass, Lewis S. Davis.
Princeton : Princeton University Press, c2009.
Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number:337.03 P957 (v. 1-2)
Also available Online.
This encyclopedia provides essays on how the world economy functions and the influence it has on people and countries. Essays include titles such as aid, international, capital flows to developing countries, and poverty, global,. Each article includes a bibliography of further sources to consult.


Countries and their cultures / Melvin Ember and Carol R. Ember, editors.
New York : Macmillan Reference USA, 2001.
Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) Call number:L 306.03 C855 (v. 1-4)
Examines the cultures of the countries of the world. Each entry has a substantial essay that covers such topics as demographics, linguistics, history, food and economy, social systems, political life, marriage, family and kinship, education, healthcare, and more. Each entry includes a bibliography. Also available Online.
Political handbook of the world
New York City, McGraw-Hill, 1975 - Location: MAIN Core (Reference) - 2 North Main Library - 7-Day Loan Call number:L 341.05 P769
This resource provides comprehensive country and intergovernmental organization profiles. Included are major aspects of each country's government and political party system. Also available Online.

Political Science Librarian

Jeannette Moss's picture
Jeannette Moss
Contact:
University Library
2 North (Core) Rm. 2303
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
847-491-2169