Skip to main content

Faculty Services: Research Services

Research Consultations

Request in-depth assistance on a research project using this form

or 

contact your subject specialist directly. 

Ask a Librarian

Suggest a Purchase

We value your suggestions. Please feel free to suggest a purchase to the libraries. The information you provide will remain confidential.

Suggest a purchase using this form

or 

contact your subject specialist directly. 

Contact for University Archives

For information about:

Contact

Kevin Leonard

Department:

University Archives

Contact for Distinctive Collections

For information about:

  • Access to rare and original materials in all disciplines for teaching and research

Contact

Martin Antonetti

Department:

Distinctive Collections

 

Citation Management Resources

The library supports resources for citation managment including: 

  • Zoteroa free bibliographic manager that is works with the Firefox web browser or in a standalone version that works with other web browsers.
    • See our Zotero guide for more information.
  • EndNote, a software program designed to store and manipulate bibliographic information. It is available for download from NUIT.
    • See our Endnote guide for more information.

Contact

Jason Kruse

or

Steve Adams

Geographic Information Systems

NU Library provides GIS reference and instruction services in the library or in your class.

The licensed GIS software provided on all public PCs is ArcGIS (10.2). Access to this software is available on computers in:

Evanston Campus:

  • University Library,  Main Library, Level 1: 50 workstations (hours) & Deering, Level 1: 10 public PCs (hours) ,  
  • Mudd Library, Evanston Campus - all public PCs

Chicago Campus:

See here for more information. 

University Archives

University Archives houses noncurrent official University records as well as manuscripts, publications, graphics, artifacts, scrapbooks, and a wide variety of other materials bearing on Northwestern life and history. This repository of primary-source materials is a place to develop students' research skills. Faculty may make arrangements to deposit their personal papers at University Archives.

For more information on this and related services, email archives@northwestern.edu

Distinctive Collections

Distinctive Collections support the overall mission of Northwestern University Library to provide information resources and services of the highest quality to sustain and enhance the University’s teaching, research, professional, and performance programs.

Distinctive Collections:

For more information on this and related services, email speciallibraries@northwestern.edu

Scholarly Communication Services

The Library offers guidance in copyright, alternative publishing methods, open access, and data management planning.

For information about:

Contact

John Dorr

 

Contact for All Other Research & Information Service Requests

For information about:

  • Faculty research grant support
  • Library orientation for graduate students
  • Program review – adequacy of research support for a given field
  • New programs, departments, and degrees – assessing library needs and impact
  • For new endowed chairs, assessing "paired" opportunities

Contact

Harriet Lightman

or

Geoff Morse

or

your subject specialist