Skip to main content

POLI SCI 101-6:Politics of Religious Freedom: Minorities, Rights, & Law (Hurd): Indexes to journal articles

Journal Articles

  • Academic Search Premier
    For many research topics this database is an excellent starting point for locating articles and other scholarly resources on a wide variety of topics. The following basic searches will provide a wide variety of citations to journal articles, many of them peer reviewed:
    • religious freedom and human rights
    • church and state and tolerance
    • religious pluralism and politic*
    • religious minorit* and politic*
  • Academic OneFile
    Another good index to start with, Academic OneFile will provide numerous sources on a wide variety of topics. The searches listed above will also provide many results in this database.
  • ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
    The pre-eminent religion database, ATLA will provide citations to many sources not found in databases oriented more toward political science or history. For instance the following searches will yield some interesting results:

    • religious freedom and dissent
    • pluralism and politic*
    • religious pluralism and minorit*
  • America: History and Life
    An index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
  • Hein Online
  • This database provides full text back issues of more than 220 law reviews and law journals published primarily at law schools in the United States.Possible searches include:

    • Lynch v Donnelly
    • "Nativity Scenes"
  • Historical Abstracts
    Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
  • PAIS International
    This resource covers issues in public policy. Sources include journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more. The resource provides a broad perspective on social and public policies.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
    Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. Below are some sample searches that will provide an idea of some of the material you can find in this resource.

    • Religious Freedom and Law
    • Human Rights and Religion
    • Religious Pluralism

Political Science Librarian

Jeannette Moss's picture
Jeannette Moss
Contact:
University Library
2 North (Core) Rm. 2303
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
847-491-2169