Skip to main content

HIST 392: Latino Conservatives (Cadava): Finding Primary Sources

Mining the Internet with Google Alerts

Since your main assignment is to build an archive of primary materials and many of the topics in this course are current events, it can be helpful to monitor the Internet for up-to-the-minute news or other content related to your topics.

You can set up a Google Alert to keep track of items as they appear. Alerts can be set up as regular emails or as an RSS feed.

You will need to have a Google account to set up an alert.

Contemporary Newspapers

Guides to U.S. Government Documents

  • Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
    Finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word.
  • ProQuest Congressional (1789-present)
    Extensive index to the publications of the U.S. Congress. Coverage in many cases goes back to 1789. Much of the material is available online in full text with even more available in microfiche at Government Info. Ask for help to find these.
  • U.S. Government Accountability Office
    The GAO is the investigative arm of Congress that monitors and reports on the various activities of U.S. government agencies. Many GAO reports (both current and historical) are available online directly from this site. Consult with the staff in Government Info for reports not available online.
  • CIS Index to U.S. Executive Branch Documents, 1789-1909.
    Publisher: Bethesda, MD: Congressional Information Service, 1990.
    Call number: MAIN Government Info 015.73053 C579
    Provides references to official documents produced by several executive branch agencies, published sine the inception of our nation into the early 20th Century. The corresponding microfiche collection of these documents is located in Government Info. Ask for help in locating the documents listed here.
  • CIS Index to U.S. Executive Branch Documents, 1910-1932.
    Publisher: Bethesda, MD: Congressional Information Service, 1996.
    Call number: MAIN Government Info 015.73053 C579 1910/1932
    Provides references to official documents produced by several executive branch agencies, including the War Department and State Department. The corresponding microfiche collection of these documents is located in Government Info. Ask for help in locating the documents listed here.
  • Foreign Relations of the United States.
    Publisher: Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office. 1861-
    Call number: MAIN Government Info S 1. 1:
    Online access: via Univ. of Wisconsin (1861-1960)
    Online access: via State Department (1961-1976)
    The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian since 1861, the series contains documents from Presidential libraries, Department of State, Department of Defense, National Security Council, Central Intelligence Agency, Agency for International Development, and other foreign affairs agencies as well as the private papers of individuals involved in formulating U.S. foreign policy.
  • Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service.
    Publisher: Frederick, MD : University Publications of America, 1916-
    Call number: MAIN Government Info 018 M234
    The Congressional Research Service is the non-partisan public policy research arm of the U.S. Congress that provides members and committees with in-depth analysis of legislative issues. This index and the accompanying microfilm provide access to a select set of CRS reports going back to 1916. The microfilm is located at Government Info.

Subject Guide

John Hernandez's picture
John Hernandez
Contact:
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208-2300

Main Library (2nd Floor, North Tower)
(847) 491-7602