General / Multi-subject Databases
The databases on this page will help you identify scholarly, popular, and news articles, as well as other research, on topics for this class.
Finding the full text of an article 
If the article citations you find do not include full text, click on Find it @ NU which searches across many other databases to find electronic full text of the article, if it exists, in the NU Library electronic environment. Find it @ NU will also lead to NUcat, the online catalog, if only a paper copy exists for the journal or periodical. If an item is not found in electronic or paper copy, a link to Interlibrary Loan will be given.
You can also locate the full article by directly searching on the journal title, not the article title, in NUcat. You can then check to see whether the library owns the journal or periodical and if so, what issues/dates are owned and in what format (hard copy, electronic, microtext).
To find these and other databases to which Northwestern University Library subscribes, you can also go to the library homepage and choose Electronic Resources.
More help with finding articles:
Finding articles with Find it@NU button (video)
- Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 This link opens in a new windowIndexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Dates of coverage include 1890 to 1982.
Subject-specific Databases
- Communication Source This link opens in a new windowCombining the content of Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts, this comprehensive resource offers content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields. Coverage goes back to 1915.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts to the international literature of political science.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowHistorical literature and scholarship (including articles, books, book chapters and other documents) covering the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCovers the world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThis database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowCitations in public policy, social policy and the social sciences.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals in film and television theory, preservation, restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, reviews, and abstracts for more than 300 publications.
Subject Guide
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
847-491-8735
n-pelster@northwestern.edu