Skip to main content

PHIL_109-6: First Year Seminar: Rethinking Democracy after Globalization (Lafont): Encyclopedias and other Background Sources

Philosophy 109 Cristina Lafont

Encyclopedias: Globalization Issues

Anheier, Helmut K., and Mark Juergensmeyer. Encyclopedia of Global Studies. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: SAGE, 2012. Internet.

Bates, Christopher G., and James Ciment. Global Social Issues: An Encyclopedia. Armonk, NY: Sharpe Reference, 2013. Internet.

Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability. Great Barrington, MA: Berkshire Publishing Group, 2010-2012. Internet. The premier work on sustainability studies; in ten (virtual) thematic volumes.   Particularly useful may be the volume "The Law and Politics of Sustainability."

Callicott, J. Baird, and Robert Frodeman. Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy. Farmington Hills, MI: Macmillan Reference USA/Gale Cengage Learning, 2009. Internet.  Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates.

Chatterjee, Deen K. Encyclopedia of Global Justice. Dordrecht: Springer, 2011. Internet.

Collin, Robin Morris, and Robert W. Collin. Encyclopedia of Sustainability. Santa Barbara, Calif.: Greenwood Press, 2009. Internet. Spans the entire scope of sustainability from ecological concepts to financial concerns to public policy and community action.

DeLong-Bas, Natana J. The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2013. Internet.  

Denemark, Robert Allen. The International Studies Encyclopedia. Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2010- . Internet. Continuously updated.

Fagan, G. Honor, and Ronaldo Munck. Globalization and Security: An Encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, Calif.: Praeger Security International, 2009. MAIN Reference 355.033 G5625 or Internet.

Forsythe, David P. Encyclopedia of Human Rights. Oxford Oxford University Press, 2009. MAIN Reference 323.03 E56 or Internet.

Fundukian, Laurie J. The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health.  Detroit: Gale, 2013. Internet.

Mason, Patrick L. Encyclopedia of Race and Racism.  2nd ed. Boston: Macmillan Reference USA, 2013. Internet.

Ness, Immanuel. The Encyclopedia of Global Human Migration. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley-Blackwell, 2013. Internet.

Odekon, Mehmet. The Sage Encyclopedia of World Poverty. Second edition. Los Angeles: SAGE Reference, 2015. Internet.

Oyster, Carol K., Mary Zeiss Stange, and Jane Sloan. Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications, Inc, 2011. Internet.  

Philander, S. George. Encyclopedia of Global Warming & Climate Change. 2nd ed. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: SAGE Publications, 2012. Internet.

Ritzer, George. The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Globalization. Hoboken, N.J.: Wiley-Blackwell, 2012. Internet.

Robertson, Roland, and Jan Aart Scholte. Encyclopedia of Globalization. New York: Routledge, 2007. MAIN Reference 303.48203 E56.

Rowe, Debra. Achieving Sustainability: Visions, Principles, and Practices. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2014. Internet 

Sage Publications Inc. Sage Encyclopedia of Terrorism. 2nd ed. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage, 2011. Internet.

Van Alfen, Neal K. Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems.  Second edition.  [Enhanced Credo edition]. London: Academic Press, 2014. Internet.  This reference work comprehensively covers the important areas of agriculture and food science, covering important methods, practices and ideas in this growing discipline.

Wherry, Frederick F. and Juliet Schor. The Sage Encyclopedia of Economics and Society. Los Angeles: SAGE Reference, 2015. Internet.

Encyclopedias: Philosophy

Borchert, Donald M. Encyclopedia of Philosophy. 2nd ed. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2006. Internet.

Clarke, Paul A. B., and Joe Foweraker. Encyclopedia of Democratic Thought. London: Routledge, 2001. MAIN Reference 321.803 E561.

Craig, Edward. Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. London: Routledge, 1998.  Internet.  Continuously updated.

Fieser, James. The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy. 1996- . Internet.  Continuously updated; something of a work-in-progress.

Gibbons, Michael T. The Encyclopedia of Political Thought. Chichester, West Sussex, UK :Wiley Blackwell, 2015. Internet.

Mandle, Jon and David A. Reidy. The Cambridge Rawls Lexicon. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2015. Internet.

Stanford University. Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. [Stanford, Calif.]: Stanford University, 1997- . Internet.  Continuously updated.

CQ Researcher

Reference Librarian and Subject Specialist

Bill McHugh's picture
Bill McHugh
Contact:
Library 2625
847-491-2175
Subjects:Classics, Philosophy