Skip to main content

Siege and Commune of Paris Collection (ca. 1870-1871): Other Major Siege and Commune Collections

Find resources in and related to the Siege and Commune of Paris Collection at the Charles Deering McCormick Library of Special Collections

Other Collections

University of Leeds

Scroll down to section 6 (1815-1990s: history & politics) to find a listing of the wealth of primary resources in The Brotherton Library on the Franco-Prussian War and the Paris Commune: "there are about 200 volumes of contemporary publications (from this period), including 11 folio volumes of proclamations, cartoons, newspaper cuttings, French, German and British; Réimpression du Journal officiel de la République Française sous la Commune; Les murailles politiques françaises - La guerre, - La Commune, & Les murailles d'Alsace-Lorraine; 67 issues (of 68 published) of Père Duchêne [1871]; Le patriote [Marseille] (1-16); Enquête parlementaire sur l'insurrection du 18 mars (1872); (and) Gambetta, Discours et plaidoyers politiques (1880-85), & Lettres, 1868-1882 (1938)."

Musee d'art et d'histoire de Saint Denis

The archival collections of the Musee de Saint Denis reflect the historical currents of thought in the city. For a brief audiovisual tour of some of the highlights of the collections related to the Seige and Commune of Paris, click on "collections" at the bottom of the screen, then go to "Le siege et la Commune de Paris," and open the link at the bottom of the screen to "Visiter la collection." Note: There is no option for English translation embedded in this site.

Bibliotheque National de France

Materials in the BNF collections regarding the Siege and Commune of Paris may be found through general searches. Note: You may view a few pages in English translation, but most require reading knowledge of French.

Contact Us