Skip to main content

Siege and Commune of Paris Collection (ca. 1870-1871): Other Resources

Find resources in and related to the Siege and Commune of Paris Collection at the Charles Deering McCormick Library of Special Collections

Subject Headings

Standardized subject headings or authority records are a tool used by librarians to establish standard terminology for bibliographic records. It is important to note that authority records do not necessarily represent materials in a library's collection.

Try using these subject headings for your search terms in the databases linked at the right:

Paris (France)--History--Commune, 1871

Amis de la commune de Paris 1871 (Paris)

Franco-Prussian War, 1870-1871

Or search Library of Congress Authorities for more.

Databases

Note: If you are off-campus, you will need your NU NetID and password to log in to these resources.

Use Northwestern University Library's new search tool to find resources in a variety of formats. Searching a book title for example, will give you the bibliographic record for that item, but may also return book reviews and related materials.

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) indexes over 3,100 academic historical journals on world history outside the U.S. and Canada, in over 40 languages from 1955 onward.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) abstracts and indexes more than 1,300 arts and humanities journals.

JSTOR provides full-text access to over 1,000 academic journals, and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources. Note: JSTOR does not provide access to the most current issues of the journals they list, instead the most recent issues in this database tend to be 3-5 years old.

WorldCat (FirstSearch) links you to library collections around the world through a single search tool. If you are not able to locate a resource at Northwestern, request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Google Scholar Search

Search for scholarly articles or find related articles through citation links.

Contact Us