Skip to main content

English 101: Making Race in America (Trubey) by Natalie Pelster: Articles

General / Multi-subject Databases

The databases on this page will help you identify scholarly, popular, and news articles, as well as other research, on topics for this class.

Finding the full text of an article

If the article citations you find do not include full text, click on the Find it @ NU link, which searches across many other databases to find electronic full text of the article, if it exists in the NU Library electronic environment. Find it @ NU will also provide a link to NUcat, the online catalog, to allow you to search for a paper copy of the journal or periodical.  In NUcat you should search on the journal title, not the article title.  NUcat will lead you to records that will tell you whether the library owns the journal or periodical and if so, what issues/dates are owned and in what format (hard copy, electronic, microtext).

You can fill out an Interlibrary Loan request from the Find it @ NU page for an article that we own in paper or microfilm, and also for an artilce from a journal we don't own at all. Keep in mind, however, if Interlibrary Loan needs to go to another library to find the article for you, this could take a week or more.  It can often be supplied more quickly, but we can't guarantee a quicker turnaround time.

If you find an article cited in one of your readings or in one of the special encyclopedias listed in this guide, it is best to proceed to NUcat and do a journal title search. NUcat will lead you to both electronic and paper copies.


To find these and other databases to which Northwestern University Library subscribes, you can also go to the library homepage and choose All Databases.

 

Subject-specific Databases (Secondary literature)

These more specialized databases may be useful for topics that don't turn up sufficient resources in the more general databases. 

Subject Guide

Natalie Pelster's picture
Natalie Pelster
Contact:
Access Services Department
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208

847-491-8735
n-pelster@northwestern.edu