Skip to main content

Theatre at Northwestern University: Productions and Production Companies

A guide to resources in the Northwestern University Archives that document Northwestern's rich history in theatre teaching and performance.

What is a finding aid?

Because archival and manuscript materials are different from books and periodicals (see Using Archival Materials), specialized methods have been developed to act the way an index or table of contents would in a book.

The key to locating items in these collections is through a “finding aid.”

As the name implies, the finding aid helps researchers find relevant collections, and then identify the specific materials they need within the collection.

Each finding aid provides information about the creation and historical context of a collection, explains how it is organized, and outlines its contents, so that you can identify and request the materials relevant to your research.

You will need to come to the University Archives to view the actual collections, since they collections do not circulate and in most cases their contents are not digitized.

Most finding aids provide the following information:

  • Biographical or historical information about the subject of the collection
  • Description of the scope of the collection and the kinds of materials found in it
  • Listing of the folder titles contained in each box
  • Other basic information: the series number (like a call number, identifying the collection); the size of the collection, where the materials came from, any restrictions on access, and related collections

For many more details about the parts of a finding aid, see http://tinyurl.com/3m4kcgc

Collections with Finding Aids

The archival collections described here document production companies and individual productions at Northwestern The collections consist of documents and other materials donated to the Archives by such groups as the University Theatre, Waa-Mu, Mee-Ow, and the Arts Alliance (comprising Dolphin Show, Orgy of the Arts, Gilbert & Sullivan, etc.).

The links below will take you to the finding aid for each collection (see "What is a Finding Aid," at left). Not all of our finding aids are online yet, and not all collections have finding aids. Please do not hesitate to ask the Archives if you don't see the name or topic you are looking for here. The information you seek may be available through our other sources, including the Syllabus, the Daily Northwestern, the Archives' Photographic Collections, Subject Files, or General Files.

Topical Guide

Janet Olson's picture
Janet Olson
Contact:
110 Deering
Northwestern University Library
(847) 491-3136
library.northwestern.edu/archives