comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered.

Provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on U.S. and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history in ways not previously possible.

129 volumes are now fully cataloged and available via NUcat. You can search for "digitale bibliothek" as a title in NUcat to get a sense of the scope of this resource.

Searchable and browseable database offering extensive access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long eighteenth century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Coverage includes letters and documents, document sources such as manuscripts and early printed editions, scholarly annotations, and links to biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, newspapers, and other online resources.

Empire Online includes approximately 60,000 images of original manuscripts and printed materials covering the period 1492-2007. It is organized into the following five sections, each of which combines both images of original documents and essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies:

» Section I: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969
» Section II: Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire
» Section III: The Visible Empire
» Section IV: Religion and Empire
» Section V: Race, Class, Imperialism and Colonialism, 1607-2007
Empire Online also provides biographies of the individuals mentioned in the source material, a detailed chronology of the period covered, and both keyword and controlled vocabulary searching.

Based at the University of Michigan Library, contributors to this project are creating an online version of the Encyclopedia translated into English, with links to the original French versions.

Nearly 2,800 full text titles

Portal to numerous sources, including documents, data files, primary and secondary literature. Includes new links to Spanish Digital Archives.

This site includes 12 topical essays, 250 images, 350 text documents, 13 songs, 13 maps, a timeline, and a glossary. The site is a collaboration of the Center for History and New Media (George Mason University) and American Social History Project (City University of New York), supported by grants from the Florence Gould Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities.

This collection consists of historical legal codes, statutes, regulations, and commentaries on codes from the United Kingdom, France, Germany, and other countries in northern Europe. Included are crucial sources of historical statutes and regulations for the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources is sourced from the law libraries of Yale, Harvard, and George Washington University.

Digital facsimiles of literature on economics and business published from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century from the collections of the Goldsmiths’ Library of Economic Literature at the University of London, England, and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School; with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University, and from Sterling Library at Yale University. Collection contains materials on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport; documents the dynamics of Western trade and wealth; focuses on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology; special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. Includes facsimiles of rare books and primary source materials such as political pamphlets and broadsides, government publications, proclamations, and a wide range of ephemera.

Includes the works of Calvin, Hume, Locke, Luther, Hobbes, Machiavelli, and many others. Click on the link above for a full listing of available works in the Past Masters series, but note that it is important to explore the groups such as Continental Rationalists, which contains the works of Descartes and Leibniz; British Philosophy, 1600-1900, which contains Bacon and Adam Smith, among others; and Political Philosophy: Machiavelli to Mill.

Based upon the Voltaire Foundation Oxford edition of the Complete works of Voltaire (edited by T. Besterman et al.), this database includes all of Voltaire’s literary works, searchable by keyword, title, literary form, and date of edition. Texts which have not yet been published in the Complete works are drawn either from the original sources or from the nineteenth-century Moland edition of Voltaire’s works.