The Gerber/ Hart Library is a library for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender resources; the special collections (open by appointment only) include a remarkable collection of pre-Stonewall periodicals and literature, periodicals and newsletters from around the world, and erotica. Their online catalog is not Internet accessible.
Northwestern students/faculty have reciprocal borrowing privileges at Loyola; for more information on this program, including information on how to activate your reciprocal borrowing privileges, inquire at Northwestern Library’s circulation desk, or go to: http://www.library.northwestern.edu/circulation/privileges/loyola.html . Strengths include religious studies and philosophy. A notable special collection is the Women & Leadership Archive, housed in the Gannon Center for Women.
The University of Chicago houses collections across the humanities and social sciences. The Special Collections at the University of Chicago range widely from the middle ages to modern times and cannot be quickly summarized; the Special Collections Department Web site at http://www.lib.uchicago.edu/e/spcl/ provides a useful overview. For a list of the archival and manuscript collections in the Special Collections Department, see http://www.lib.uchicago.edu/e/spcl/findaid/mafa.html
The Crerar Library specializes in the sciences, with special collections focusing on the history of science.
Note especially the UIC Special Collections, which include history of Chicago materials. See the Special Collections and University Archives home page http://www.uic.edu/depts/lib/specialcoll/. Materials are housed in both the Daley Library and the Health Sciences Library, both of which are located on UIC's campus. The Richard J. Daley Special Collections Department houses rare books and archival materials with a strong emphasis on the history of Chicago, though special collections in other areas, such as the Caribbean, are also held.