Working with Digital Media: Equipment Check-out

Tips for working with audio and video, including how to use editing software and hardware available in the library.

WAIT

Borrowing Equipment

The equipment listed below is available for NU faculty, graduate students and staff.  Please see our Equipment Checkout page for information about borrowing equipment from the Digital Collections department.

Undergraduate equipment checkout is available from A&RT.  If you have questions about camera checkouts for undergraduate students please call 467-4565 or email: atlibcons@u.northwestern.edu

Camera Kit #1

Canon VIXIA HF S21 Dual Flash Memory Camcorder

Specifications: 64GB Internal Flash Memory, 2 x SD/SDHC Memory Card Slot Eye-Fi Memory Card Compatible, 1/2.6" CMOS Sensor, Canon 10x HD Video Lens 10x Optical Zoom, 3.5" Touch Panel LCD, 0.27" Viewfinder, 8MP Digital Still Capture, Headphone and Microphone Terminals

Accessories: Canon DM-100 Directional Stereo Microphone, Canon Deluxe Tripod 200, Canon VFL-2 Light and Flash for Canon Camcorders, RH5Ma Headphone, Canon BP-827 Lithium-Ion Battery Pack, Lowepro Compact AW

 

     

Camera Kit #2

Canon VIXIA HF G30 Camcorder

Specifications: Full HD 1920 x 1080p Recording at 60 fps; Canon 2.91MP 1/2.84" HD CMOS Pro Sensor; Canon 20x HD Video Lens (3.67 - 73.4mm); Record in MP4 (35Mbps) or AVCHD (28Mbps); Dual SD/SDHC/SDXC Memory Card Slots; Built-in Wi-Fi & Free Movie Uploader App; OLED 3.5" Touch Panel Display & Joystick; Tilt Electronic 0.24" Color Viewfinder; SuperRange Optical Image Stabilization; Advanced Display Features & HDMI Output

Accessories: SanDisk Extremet 64GB SDXC memory card, Canon DM-100 Directional Stereo Microphone, Canon Deluxe Tripod 200, RH5Ma Headphones, Canon Deluxe Backpack 200 EG

  

Canon EOS 60D DSLR Camera Kit with Canon EF-S 18-135mm Lens

Canon EOS 60D DSLR Camera

Specifications: Canon EF-S 18-135mm Lens, 18MP APS-C CMOS Sensor, 1920 x 1080 HD Video Capture, SD/SDHC/SDXC Memory Card Slot, Vari-Angle Clear View 3.0" Flip-Out LCD, DIGIC 4 Image Processor, 5.3 fps Continuous Shooting, Works with all Canon EF and EF-S Lenses, ISO 6400, HDMI Output to HDTV

 

 

Canon EOS 60D front view

 

 

Accessories: Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 AT-X 116 Pro DX Lens, Canon Deluxe Backpack 200 EG, Eyecup Eb (not shown), Wide Strap EW-EOS 60D, USB Interface Cable IFC-130U, Stereo AV cable AVC-DC400ST, Battery Pack LP-E6, Battery Charger LC-E6, EOS Digital Solution Disc and Instruction Manuals "Great Photography is Easy" Booklet and "Do More with Macro" Booklet (not shown)

 

Camera StrapCanon EF-S 18-135mm LensCanon Deluxe BackpackSandisk 16GB Memory CardCanon Deluxe TripodUSB Cable     Yamaha RH5MA Heaphones

Rode NTG-2 Shotgun Microphone Kit

Rode NTG-2 Shotgun Microphone Kit

Specifications: Rode NTG-2 shotgun microphone, shockmount and XLR to 1/8" mini cable/transformer for connecting to mini inputs on consumer video gear, super-cardioid polar pattern and line plus gradient acoustic principle minimize audio and noise at the off-axis (sides) of the microphone, powered with an internal 1.5V AA size battery or an external +48 Volt phantom power source, standard 3-pin XLR male connector output, packaged with a microphone stand mount and windscreen.


   


Accessories: Rode NTG-2 Shotgun Microphone, Universal Shock Mount, Windscreen, Right Angled XLR Cables, Universal Hand Grip, Boompole, Kit Bag

Sennheiser EW-122P G3 Wireless Microphone System

Sennheiser EW-122P G3 Wireless Microphone System

Specifications: Sturdy metal housing (transmitter and receiver), 42MHz bandwidth: 1680 tunable UHF frequencies for interference-free reception, Enhanced frequency bank system with up to 21 banks and 12 compatible frequencies per bank, High-quality true diversity reception, Pilot tone squelch for eliminating RF interference when transmitter is turned off, Automatic frequency scan feature searches for available frequencies, Enhanced AF frequency range, Increased range for audio sensitivity, Wireless synchronization of transmitters via infrared interface, User-friendly menu operation with more control options, Illuminated graphic display (transmitter and receiver), Auto-Lock function avoids accidental changing of settings, HDX compander for crystal-clear sound, Transmitter feature battery indication in 4 steps, also shown on receiver display, Programmable Mute function, Integrated Equalizer and Soundcheck mode, Contacts for recharging BA 2015 accupack directly in the transmitter.


Accessories: EK100 G3 Portable UHF Receiver, SK100 G3 Bodypack Transmitter, ME4 Lavalier Mic

Zoom H4N Audio Recorder

Zoom H4N Audio Recorder

Specifications: Built-in X/Y stereo mics record at either 90° or 120°; Four channel simultaneous recording using built-in and external mics; Digitally controlled, high-quality mic preamp for improved audio quality; Large 1.9-Inch LCD screen and improved user interface for easy operation; 24bit/96kHz Linear PCM recording for pristine recording

 

 

Accessories: Zoom H4n Handy Mobile 4-Track Recorder, Audio-Technica ATH-M20 Closed-Back Headphone, SanDisk 8GB SDHC Memory Card, Ultra Class 10 UHS-I Pearstone Accessory Shoe Adapter with 1/4"-20 Stud Connector, Whirlwind WHH4NL 3.5 MON Line-to-Microphone Attenuator Cable for HDSLR Cameras

 

Edirol Audio Recording Kit

Edirol/Roland R-09HR Audio Recorder

Specifications: Pocket Size, Records up to 24-bit/96kHz, Records PCM WAV and MP3, Writes to SD or SDHC Cards, Built-in Stereo Mic, Large OLED Screen, Built-in Speaker, USB 2.0 Connection

 

 

Accessories: Edirol / Roland CB-R09S, Carry Case, SanDisk 8GB SDHC Memory Card, Wireless Remote

 

Nikon D40 Camera Kit

Nikon D40 6.1MP Digital SLR Camera 

 

Specifications: Optical Sensor Resolution: 6.1 MP, Optical Sensor Technology: CCD, Optical zoom: 3x, Maximum Aperture Range: F/3.5-5.6, Minimum focal length: 18 millimeters, Maximum focal length: 55 millimeters, Lens Type: Zoom lens, Optical Sensor Size: 15.6 x 23.7mm, Included Flash Type: Pop-up flash, Display Size: 2.5 inches, Light Sensitivity: ISO 200-1600, Image types: RAW, JPEG, Width: 5 inches, Depth: 2.5 inches, Height: 3.7 inches, Weight: 16.8 Ounces

 

 

Accessories: Gadget Bag, MH-23 Quick Charger, Nikon AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II Lens, Nikon AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm Lens, Nikon ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control, Nikon UC-E6 USB Cable, Quick Start Guide

 

Bescor LED-95DK2 Dual LED Light Kit

Bescor LED-95DK2 Dual LED Light Kit

Specifications: 

Type LED
Lumens 410
Watts Approximate 105W equivalent
Color Temperature 6,500K
Power Included AC (2) adaptors (110V AC)
6 AA rechargeable NMH or standard alkaline batteries. (Run time: 2.5 hours)
Dimensions Each light: 8.5 x 12.4 x 1.8" (21.6 x 31.5 x 5.5 cm)
Each stand: 4 sections, 25.6" (0.65 m) closed and 70.86" (1.8 m) open
Weight Each light: 20 oz (567g)

 

 

Canon EOS 60D front view

 

 

Accessories: Porta Brace LPB-LED2 Carrying Case for Multiple Lite Panels 1X1

 

Bescor Carrying Case     

Magic Wand Portable Scanner Kit

VuPoint Solutions “Magic Wand” Portable Scanner

Specifications: Color Contact image Sensor, Standard Resolution: 300x300dpi (default) and High Resolution: 600x600dpi, Supports Micro SD card up to 16GB, File format: JPEG

 

 

Accessories: Pouch, Kingston 4 GB microSDHC Class 4 Flash Memory Card, Cleaning Cloth, USB Cable, 2 AA Batteries, User Manual

 

Guidelines

 

1. Eligibility: Digital Collections equipment loans are free of charge and available only to current faculty, graduate students, and library staff with valid Wildcards. Only the faculty, graduate students and Library staff may handle or use the equipment while it is on loan.  Equipment is lent to an individual who assumes the financial risk for the complete equipment set until all equipment is returned.

2.  Equipment usage:  Equipment is available for curricular and extra-curricular purposes.  Equipment may be used both on-campus and off-campus. All patrons are expected to adhere to all computing policies as described at http://www.it.northwestern.edu/policies/csn-use.html.  Northwestern University Library assumes no liability for misuse of borrowed equipment.

3. Equipment reserve, pick up and return:  Equipment must be reserved via email or telephone to the Digital Collections Department.  Proxy users will not be permitted to pick up or drop off equipment. Equipment not picked up within one hour of the specified pickup time may be checked out by other patrons. Equipment may not be picked up or returned at any other location - only at Digital Collections in 2 East Tower.  Equipment must be picked up and returned during open hours, 8:30-5:30 pm Monday-Friday.  
 
4. Loan period: The standard loan period is up to 72 hours. Longer loan durations of up to one week will be approved in special circumstances.  Loan durations of over one week are not allowed except through written appeal and approvals.  To submit a request for longer loan periods, please email digitalcollections@northwestern.edu explaining your need and the  equipment requested.  Once equipment is returned to the Digital Collections Department and checked by staff, an item may be borrowed again, if available.
 
5. Training: Patrons are required to complete a 10 minute, in-person training with Digital Collections staff before borrowing equipment for the first time.  To ensure staff are available, please make an appointment for this training.  Appointments can be made via email or phone and are only available during open hours, 8:30-5:30 pm Monday-Friday.
 
6. Signed statement:  Patrons are required to sign a statement acknowledging receipt of the equipment and the terms of the loan before equipment is lent - including financial responsibility for damaged or lost equipment and fees for late return.  Equipment will be checked by Digital Collections staff to confirm its good condition before loan is made.  
 
7. Fines and Fees: Patrons are financially liable for any items not returned on time or returned requiring repair or replacement. For items not returned on time, a late fine of $25 per day will accrue for the first week. The full replacement cost will be charged for all equipment not returned by one week after its due date.
a. All fines related to repair and replacement costs will be charged to the person who checked out the equipment.  
b. Fines are invoiced, and payable by credit or debit card only. 
 
8. Receipt upon return:  When equipment is returned, DC staff will inspect all equipment for visual damage or missing items.  Patrons will receive a return receipt that acknowledges return of all items, or notes any exceptions. Equipment return may take up to 10 minutes to check all equipment components and cables. The patron is expected to stay until the return process is complete and the return receipt is generated. Patrons are financially liable for any missing cables or components, including items or damage discovered after the generation of the return receipt.  
 
9. New service:  Equipment lending to faculty is a new service, thus guidelines and procedures may change.  Availability of equipment is dependent on future funding.

Contact Digital Collections

Northwestern University

Mobile Site | Library Home | Northwestern Calendar: PlanIt Purple | Northwestern Search

Northwestern University Library 1970 Campus Drive Evanston, IL 60208-2300 Evanston: 847.491.7658 Fax: 847.491.8306 library@northwestern.edu