Skip to main content

International Resources by Theme: Gender

International Resources by Subject

Key Organizations

Related Guides

Subject guides related to "gender"

Subject guides related to ""women"

Key Resources

  • Gender Info - UN Statistics Division
    GThe Gender Statistics database provides indicators on key gender topics. Themes included are demographics, education, health, labor force, and political participation.lobal database of gender statistics and indicators on a wide range of policy areas, including: population, families, health, education, work, and political participation. 

  • Childinfo - UNICEF
    Statistical information from core UNICEF studies, as well as the data (& datasets) from its supported Multiple Indicator Cluster Surveys (MICS); a major source of global development data.

  • Genderstats - World Bank
    The Gender Statistics database provides indicators on key gender topics. Themes included are demographics, education, health, labor force, and political participation. View their data catalog as well.

  • Gender: World Bank Recommended Reading
    A selected list providing content frequently used by academic institutions and recent World Bank Group research.

  • Life of Women and Men in Europe: a Statistical Portrait - European Union
    Describes the situations of women and men at different stages of their lives. It begins by covering children, their education and initial training. Also shows possible differences between women and men in the age at which they leave the family home and in their lifestyles. It examines women and men in their professional life, focusing on their differing career paths, the respective positions they occupy and their abilities and strategies for reconciling the pursuit of a working career with family responsibilities. The final analytical part is a review of women and men beyond retirement age, including the income they receive from pensions and other sources, whether or not they are still working, their household circumstances, their health and social relations. 
    Gov Info Reference 301.32 L722

  • OECD Gender, Institutions and Development Statistics - OECD
    Presents comparative data on gender equality. It has been compiled from secondary sources such as Gender Stats and the Human Development Report as well as from in-depth reviews of country case studies. The data are divided into six categories: (i) general country information, (ii) social institutions, (iii) access to resources, (iv) political empowerment, (v) economic status of women, and (vi) composite indicators of gender equality.

  • WISTAT: Women's Indicators Statistical Database - UN, 2000 
    Global database of statistics and indicators on gender, population and social development. It contains detailed statistics and indicators on a wide range of topics for 206 countries or areas of the world.
    (Requires Internet Explorer to run networked disc)
    Gov Info CD Reference 305.42094 U58 CD 

Subject Guide

Anne Zald's picture
Anne Zald
Contact:
Deering 102A
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
anne.zald@northwestern.edu
847-467-6441
Skype Contact
Social:YouTube Page