Skip to main content

International Resources by Theme: Development

International Resources by Subject

Key Organizations

United Nations Development Programme - UNDP
UNDP is the UN's global development network, an organization advocating for change and connecting countries to knowledge, experience and resources to help people build a better life.

World Bank
The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. Their mission is to fight poverty with passion and professionalism for lasting results and to help people help themselves and their environment by providing resources, sharing knowledge, building capacity and forging partnerships in the public and private sectors.

Related Guides

Subject guides related to "human rights"

Subject guides related to "poverty"

Subject guides related to "social indicators"

Key Resources

  • World Development Indicators - World Bank
    Annual compilation of data about development. The 2008 CD-ROM edition contain 45 years of time series data for more than 200 countries from 1960-2006, single-year observations, and spreadsheets on many topics; over 800 indicators are given. It also contains more than 1,000 country tables and the text from print edition of the World Development Indicators.
    Latest book and CD-ROM in Gov Info Reference 330.05 W9721.

  • Human Development Report - United nations Development Programme (UNDP)
    Reports available online (several recent years) and in print in Gov Info (1990-present, use the GET IT tab).  HDR Data is also provided (1980-2015)

  • National & Regional Human Development Reports Database - UNDP
  • Africa Development Indicators - World Bank
    Includes approximately 50 macroeconomic, sectoral, and social indicators, covering 53 African countries; historical data available on CD-ROM kept in Gov Info Reference 330.96032 W927 CD.
  • Creditor Reporting System on Aid Activities - OECD

  • Global Development Finance - World Bank
    Repository for statistics on the external debt of developing countries derived from loan-by-loan records. GDF presents reported or estimated data on the total external debt of 128 individual countries that report to the World Bank's Debtor reporting System
    Latest book and CD-ROM in Gov Info Reference 336.34 I61w

  • UNCTAD Stat (UN Conference on Trade & Development
    Gives access to more than 150 time series by subject area (Trade, investment, maritime transport, etc.).  Also provides country profiles that include key economic statistics.

  • International Development Statistics - OECD
    Presents comparative data on gender equality in 161 countries around the world. The data base features general socio-economic information on each country as well as specific information on the economic status of women, their political empowerment and their access to resources such as education and health. Furthermore, the data base provides information on social institutions such as marriage customs that have an impact on gender equality. Specifically, social institutions comprise the following four areas: family law; physical integrity; ownership rights and civil liberties.
    Available through SourceOECD to the NU community

  • Least Developed Countries Report - UNCTAD
    Comprehensive and authoritative source of socio-economic analysis and data on the world´s most impoverished countries; published since 1996. Latest print edition in GovInfo Reference.

  • World Development Report - World Bank
    Each issue provides in depth analysis of a specific aspect of development; 1978-present. Latest edition in GovInfo Reference

  • World Economic Outlook Database - IMF
    Use this database to find data on national accounts, inflation, unemployment rates, balance of payments, fiscal indicators, trade for countries and country groups (aggregates), and commodity prices whose data are reported by the IMF. 
    Data are available from 1980 to the present, and projections are given for the next two years.
    April 2008 edition.

Subject Guide

Anne Zald's picture
Anne Zald
Contact:
Deering 102A
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
anne.zald@northwestern.edu
847-467-6441
Skype Contact
Social:YouTube Page