Skip to main content

Graduate Students! This Is Your Library: Stuff to Make Your Lives Easier: Articles

This guide is to introduce graduate students to some of the services and resources that the library offers. Below is information that will hopefully make using the library easier and faster so you can focus on your research.

How To Find An Article (Guide)

Choosing & Searching With Keywords

Databases

Northwestern University Library subscribes to many online article databases and indexes. To access specific databases, go to the Databases A to Z page where you can search for specific databases by title, browse by the first letter of the title of the database, or browse by subject.

If you are not sure which databases best suit your research needs, you may want to look at the library's Research Guides page. These guides are created by library Subject Librarians and are arranged by discipline and subject.

You can also contact ASK US or your Subject Librarian for suggestions on what databases might be best for you.

Journals

The best place to start if you are looking for a particular journal in our collection is to search NUsearch by the title of the journal. This will show you if we have access to the journal online, in print, or on microfilm, as well as the available years of coverage.

Setting up the Find it @ NU button in Google Scholar

In Google Scholar, you can change settings so that the Find it @ NU link appears next to search results. This will allow you to access the full-text (if available) through Northwestern's subscriptions. 

Step 1. Click on the menu icon in the upper left corner.

Step 2. Click on Settings

Step 3. Click Library Links

Step 4. Type Northwestern University in the search box to bring up the list of schools, check the box next to Northwestern University - Find it @ NU, and then click Save

 

Your search results will display the Find it @ NU button next to article results

 

Subject Guide

Steven Adams's picture
Steven Adams
Contact:
Steven Adams
Life Sciences Librarian
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
(847) 467-2511