Skip to main content

Political Science Honors Seminar (Hurd): Articles

Finding the Full Text of Articles

If the article citations you find do not include full text, click on the Find it @ NU link, which searches across many other databases to find electronic full text of the article if it exists in the NU Library electronic environment.

Find it @ NU will also provide a link to NUcat, the online catalog, to allow you to search for a paper copy of the journal or periodical.  In NUcat you should search on the journal title, not the article title.  NUcat will lead you to records that will tell you whether the library owns the journal or periodical and if so, what issues/dates are owned and in what format (hard copy, electronic, microtext).

If you find an article cited in one of your readings or in one of the special encyclopedias listed in this guide, it is best to proceed to NUcat and do a journal title search. NUcat will lead you to both electronic and paper copies.

If we don't have a particular journal at all, or don't own the issue that your article is in, it is possible to request the article through Interlibrary Loan.  Keep in mind, however, that this service will generally take ten days or so.

General / Multi-subject Databases

The databases on this page will help you identify scholarly, popular, and news articles, as well as other research, on topics for this class.


To find these and other databases to which Northwestern University Library subscribes, you can also go to the library homepage and choose Electronic Resources.

 

Subject-specific Databases

Subject Guide

Natalie Pelster's picture
Natalie Pelster
Contact:
Access Services Department
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208

847-491-8735
n-pelster@northwestern.edu