Skip to main content

ECON 101-6: Did Economics Win Two World Wars? (Gordon): Finding Articles

Research guide for Prof. Gordon's Economics Freshman Seminar

Accessing Full Text

Some article databases provide full text while most only provide references to articles.

Look out for the purple "Find it @ NU" button Find it at NUL among your database search results.

Click on the button to see if Northwestern provides full text access to the article via one of our electronic journal packages.

Article Databases

The following multi-subject databases cover a wide variety of subjects and are a good place to start looking for discussions of historical topics, including events surrounding the World Wars.

These specialized databases focus on more specific subject areas. They are good for finding treatment of specific topics related to the World Wars and analysis of those issues from the perspective of disciplines such as economics and political science.

Note: America: History & Life and Historical Abstracts allow you to limit your search to a specific historical period. Use the Advanced Search mode and scroll about halfway down the screen to enter a range of years (e.g. 1918 to 1939 for the years in between the world wars).

Loading

NUsearch - Articles

NUsearch iconNUsearch is the library's tool for finding books, journals, videos, images, and so much more (both physical and electronic) in our collection.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar brings together a tremendous amount of scholarly literature on a wide range of subjects. This can be a good alternative to more traditional databases.