Academic Journals for Latina/o Studies
- Arizona Journal of Hispanic Cultural Studies byPublication Date: 1997-present
- Aztlan: Journal of Chicano Studies byPublication Date: 1970-present
- Centro Journal byPublication Date: 1999-present
- Chiricú byPublication Date: 1976-present
- Journal of Latinos and Education byPublication Date: 2002-present
- Journal of Latinx Psychology byPublication Date: 2019-present
- Latino Studies byPublication Date: 2003-present
- US Latina & Latino Oral History Journal byPublication Date: 2017-present
Journal Article Databases
- Chicano Database This link opens in a new windowComprehensive resource for articles about Mexican-American topics. Also includes (1992 to the present) the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Covers 1960s-present.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary full-text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searching is bilingual (English & Spanish). Covers 1960-present.
- HAPI Online: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new windowProvides citations to articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.-Mexico border, and Hispanics in the U.S. Covers 1970-present.
- HLAS: Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new windowBibliography on Latin America consisting of works in the social sciences and the humanities selected and annotated by scholars. Covers 1936-present.
- Oxford Bibliographies: Latino Studies This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Latino studies and the Hispanic minority in the United States. Introductory essay provides a review of current research trends and issues. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Covers 1950s-present
The following databases provide references to literature concerning Latinos/Latinas in a variety of subject disciplines:
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new windowSearch worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowIndexes literature about the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers items published 1954-present.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive index of anthropological materials. Unites two premier indexes created in two hemispheres: Harvard University's Anthropological Literature and the Royal Anthropological Institute's Anthropological Index. Coverage: 1800s to today.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowOnline journals from the American Anthropological Association.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowArt Abstracts indexes and abstracts periodicals back to 1984, plus art dissertations and art reproductions.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new windowThe ATLA database provides citations to journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections in all areas of religious studies. Included in this database is the ATLA Serials collection which contains full text coverage of 250 Religion and Theology journals. This database includes over 1.8 million citations. Incorporates ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index Online .
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from regional, national and international business and trade journals.
- Communication Source This link opens in a new windowCommunication Source offers content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields. Coverage goes back to 1915.
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowEconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, is a comprehensive index to the literature of economics. This database provides citations to journal articles, books, chapters in edited volumes, working papers, dissertations, and book reviews, with selected abstracts and some full-text content. Covers the 1880s-present.
- Education Abstracts This link opens in a new windowEducation Abstracts brings you comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Covers 1983-present.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowDatabase sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature, including pedagogy, counseling and psychology. Covers 1966-present.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive index covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing and produced for a broad target audience, from film scholars to general viewers. Subject coverage includes: film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowGender Studies Database combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. The database indexes academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance This link opens in a new windowContains journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. Covers 1984-present.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new windowProvides bibliographic information from an international selection of publications in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology. Covers 1951-present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDigitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Coverage includes the fields of descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowCompiled by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography lists articles and books in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics in the modern languages, as well as folklore, film studies, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and historical aspects of printing and publishing.
- Music Periodicals Database (formerly International Index to Music Periodicals) This link opens in a new windowMusic Periodicals Database is an outstanding resource used to find articles in music journals. It enables you to access articles on a comprehensive variety of musical subjects, styles, and genres. Covers 1874-present.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowPublic affairs, public and social policies, international relations - journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, microfiche, Internet material, etc. Coverage is from 1914 to present.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.
- SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new windowCovers primarily periodical literature in the following areas of sport: recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex to the literature in political science, including journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and reviews. Covers 1975-present.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar brings together a tremendous amount of scholarly literature on a wide range of subjects. This can be a good alternative to more traditional databases.
- Google Scholar SettingsUse this step-by-step guide to edit your Google settings so that you see the FIND IT @ NU link with search results. Avoid paywalls!!
Accessing Full Text
Some article databases provide full text while most only provide references to articles.
Look out for the purple "Find it @ NU" button 
among your database search results.
Click on the button to see if Northwestern provides full text access to the article via one of our electronic journal packages.