Skip to main content
Faculty & Staff
Alumni & Visitors
Find, Borrow, Request
Catalogs & Search Tools
Explore our catalog, find databasess and journals, or locate books in our stacks.
View and access items set aside by your instructor.
Learn about our lending policies and procedures.
Requests & Interlibrary Loan
Request items from other libraries. Place holds on or request our items.
Scan or copy library materials.
Find subject experts who can guide your research.
Request a research consultation, instruction session or stop by our reference desk.
Scholarly Research Services
Get training and technical solutions for conducting and disseminating research.
Research Tools & Guides
Access databases, e-journals, research guides and more.
Contact a librarian via phone, email or instant message.
Find operating hours and assistance availability.
Events & Exhibits
Attend an exhibit, workshop or other events.
Visitor Privileges & Resources
Learn about guest access to materials and more.
Navigate our Libraries using our maps and book location guide.
Classrooms & Study Spaces
Reserve a study space, carrel, viewing room or classroom.
Technology and Computing
Use computer labs, printers, equipment and more.
Libraries & Collections
Reserve a Study Room
Printers and Printing
Book Location Guide
Libraries and Collections
University (Main) Library
Galter Health Sciences Library
Government & Geographic Information Collection
Herskovits Library of African Studies
McCormick Library of Special Collections
Mitchell Multimedia Center
Oak Grove Library Center
Pritzker Legal Research Center
Find facts, figures and procedures for our Libraries.
News & Announcements
Read about projects and more through our news and blogs.
Join our team as a librarian, staffer or student worker.
Learn about the working groups that make the Libraries run.
Support the Libraries
Donations of books, printed material or financial contributions are appreciated.
Contact the Library
Speak with a staffer, suggest a purchase or provide feedback.
Search this Guide
Rail Transportation: Recommended Websites
Articles and Databases
Positive Train Control
AMTRAK Routes and Stations
Llinks to all current Amtrak routes and station locations by region.
Association of American Railways
The industry's major trade organization. Great statistics and information.
Federal Railroad Administration-U.S. Department of Transportation
Information on rail safety, rail network development, legislation, and more from the FRA
High-Speed and Intercity Rail - APTA
News, policy research, legislative information, and more from the American Public Transportation Association.
Infrastructure: ASCE National Report Card
A current and detailed report on the condition of U.S. transportation infrastructure as produced by the American Society of Civil Engineers
National Cooperative Rail Research Program
The National Cooperative Rail Research Program (NCRRP) conducts applied research on problems of interest to freight, intercity passenger, and commuter rail practitioners.
Railroad Safety - Illinois Commerce Commission
Illinois Commerce Commission information on legal authorities and rules, programs and services, and reports on railroad safety
Access to feature articles and white papers on the subject of rail
Surface Transportation Board
The Surface Transportation board replaces the Interstate Commerce Commission. The site offers acces to an e-Library and statistics and data
ARRB Knowledge Base
Free searchable full text resource of ARRB's (formerly Australian Road Research Board) publications.
International Union of Railways
Provides industry related bibliographies in four languages
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
Oct 11, 2018 12:13 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.