Art and Architecture History: Getting Started

Northwestern University Library's resources on art history include art, architecture, design, fashion, animation, photography, and related areas.

Books and Journals in the Art Collection

Northwestern University Library's Art Collection is focused on art, architecture, design, photography, and related visual arts. Collection strengths include 19th- and 20th-century Western art and architectural serials.

All titles are in the NUcat Library catalog.

To find titles located within the Art Collection, before entering search terms, click on the "Choose More Limits" button at the lower right of the initial search box. Choose "ART Collection (Deering Library)" from the Library Location menu.

Research Basics

View these brief video tutorials to get started with your research:

Building Keywords

Keywords and Library Databases

Subject Databases

Examining Citations

Using Citations

Key Databases

Digital images

Subject Guide

Sara Stigberg
Contact:
Art Collection
Deering Library, 3rd Floor
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Dr.
Evanston, IL 60208
s-stigberg@northwestern.edu
847.467.0449

Suggestion Box

Have a recommendation for acquisition? Ideas for this guide, or the Art Collection's other services?

Contact the Art Collection

Academic Departments

Department of Art History
Kresge Hall Room 3-400
1880 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208-2208
Phone: 847-491-3230 E-mail: art-history@northwestern.edu
Department website: http://www.wcas.northwestern.edu/arthistory/

Department of Art Theory and Practice
Kresge Hall Room 3-400
1880 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208-2208
Phone: 847-491-7346 Email: mcosta@northwestern.edu
Department website: http://www.art.northwestern.edu/

Mary and Leigh Block Museum of Art
Northwestern University
40 Arts Circle Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
Phone: 847-491-4000
E-mail: block-museum@northwestern.edu
Museum website: http://www.blockmuseum.northwestern.edu/

Northwestern University

Mobile Site | Library Home | Northwestern Calendar: PlanIt Purple | Northwestern Search

Northwestern University Library 1970 Campus Drive Evanston, IL 60208-2300 Evanston: 847.491.7658 Fax: 847.491.8306 library@northwestern.edu