Skip to main content
Faculty & Staff
Alumni & Visitors
Find, Borrow, Request
Catalogs & Search Tools
Explore our catalog, find databasess and journals, or locate books in our stacks.
View and access items set aside by your instructor.
Learn about our lending policies and procedures.
Requests & Interlibrary Loan
Request items from other libraries. Place holds on or request our items.
Scan or copy library materials.
Find subject experts who can guide your research.
Request a research consultation, instruction session or stop by our reference desk.
Scholarly Research Services
Get training and technical solutions for conducting and disseminating research.
Research Tools & Guides
Access databases, e-journals, research guides and more.
Contact a librarian via phone, email or instant message.
Find operating hours and assistance availability.
Events & Exhibits
Attend an exhibit, workshop or other events.
Visitor Privileges & Resources
Learn about guest access to materials and more.
Navigate our Libraries using our maps and book location guide.
Classrooms & Study Spaces
Reserve a study space, carrel, viewing room or classroom.
Technology and Computing
Use computer labs, printers, equipment and more.
Libraries & Collections
Reserve a Study Room
Printers and Printing
Book Location Guide
Libraries and Collections
University (Main) Library
Galter Health Sciences Library
Government & Geographic Information Collection
Herskovits Library of African Studies
McCormick Library of Special Collections
Mitchell Multimedia Center
Oak Grove Library Center
Pritzker Legal Research Center
Find facts, figures and procedures for our Libraries.
News & Announcements
Read about projects and more through our news and blogs.
Join our team as a librarian, staffer or student worker.
Learn about the working groups that make the Libraries run.
Support the Libraries
Donations of books, printed material or financial contributions are appreciated.
Contact the Library
Speak with a staffer, suggest a purchase or provide feedback.
English: 19th Century
Search this Guide
English: 19th Century: Reference
Recommended Web Sites
English Language Dictionaries
Webster's Revised Unabridged Dictionary (1913 and 1828)
OED: Oxford English Dictionary
English Literature Encyclopedias
Oxford Reference Online
Contains a number of dictionaries about English literature, including the Oxford Companion to English Literature and A Dictionary of Shakespeare.
Contains a number of dictionaries on literature, including the Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature and a Dictionary of Literary Symbols.
Encyclopedia of Victorian Literature
Click on the View It tab.
American National Biography
The authoritative guide for historical biographical information from the United States, includes over 18,700 entries.
Biography in Context
Biographies gleaned from many sources, many entries are short.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Lengthy biographies of literary authors, bibliographies included.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Provides biographies of over 50,000 individuals worldwide who have shaped the history of the British Isles.
Oxford Bibliographies Online Victorian literature
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the literature of the Victorian period, which encompasses the reign of Queen Victoria from 1837 to 1901. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
2 North: Core
1970 Campus Drive
Comparative Literary Studies
Digitized Collections >>
Nov 29, 2017 1:31 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.