Skip to main content
Faculty & Staff
Alumni & Visitors
Find, Borrow, Request
Catalogs & Search Tools
Explore our catalog, find databasess and journals, or locate books in our stacks.
View and access items set aside by your instructor.
Learn about our lending policies and procedures.
Requests & Interlibrary Loan
Request items from other libraries. Place holds on or request our items.
Scan or copy library materials.
Find subject experts who can guide your research.
Request a research consultation, instruction session or stop by our reference desk.
Scholarly Research Services
Get training and technical solutions for conducting and disseminating research.
Research Tools & Guides
Access databases, e-journals, research guides and more.
Contact a librarian via phone, email or instant message.
Find operating hours and assistance availability.
Events & Exhibits
Attend an exhibit, workshop or other events.
Visitor Privileges & Resources
Learn about guest access to materials and more.
Navigate our Libraries using our maps and book location guide.
Classrooms & Study Spaces
Reserve a study space, carrel, viewing room or classroom.
Technology and Computing
Use computer labs, printers, equipment and more.
Libraries & Collections
Reserve a Study Room
Printers and Printing
Book Location Guide
Libraries and Collections
University (Main) Library
Galter Health Sciences Library
Government & Geographic Information Collection
Herskovits Library of African Studies
McCormick Library of Special Collections
Mitchell Multimedia Center
Oak Grove Library Center
Pritzker Legal Research Center
Find facts, figures and procedures for our Libraries.
News & Announcements
Read about projects and more through our news and blogs.
Join our team as a librarian, staffer or student worker.
Learn about the working groups that make the Libraries run.
Support the Libraries
Donations of books, printed material or financial contributions are appreciated.
Contact the Library
Speak with a staffer, suggest a purchase or provide feedback.
Gender and Sexuality Studies
Search this Guide
Gender and Sexuality Studies: Archives
Study of gender and sexuality in the U.S., transnationally, and in different historical and social contexts.
Includes National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections & National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the U.S.
A million collection descriptions of thousands of libraries, museums, and archives.
Chicago Women's Liberation Union Herstory Project
Frances Perkins Center
First woman to serve on a presidential cabinet as the U.S. secretary of labor under President Franklin Delano Roosevelt.
Frances Willard House Musuem & Archives
Evanston, IL, collection of the 19th century radical feminist & social progressive.
Gay Spirit Radio Archive Project
Effort to preserve in digital form and create stories exploring Connecticut’s LGBTQ history.
Lavender Legacies Guide
Comprehensive guide to primary source material held by repositories in North America, published by the Society of American Archivists' Lesbian and Gay Archives Roundtable.
Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives and Rare Book Library, Emory University, Atlanta, GA.
LGBT Collections, University of South Florida Libraries, Tampa, FL
Focus on documenting LGBT history, culture, politics, community relations, and public health. Focus is on the Tampa Bay region, but collections are international.
Women's History Research in Archives
Research Guides at University of Wisconsin-Madison.
Women's Library @ London School of Economics
Digital artifacts on historical views of women and of the women's rights movement in England.
Women: Archives Library Information Center
U.S. National Archives and Records Administration.
Women and Leadership Archives
Loyola University Chicago.
Documenting the Lives of Northwestern University Women
A Guide to Resources in the Northwestern University Archives. Describes resources that document the lives of Northwestern women, past and present, students, faculty, faculty wives, and administrators.
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Periodicals
In the Charles Deering McCormick Library of Special Collections.
Microfilm Collections: Gender Studies & Women's Studies - Historical Materials
List of primary source materials available in the University Library's microform collections.
Nineteenth Century Women
Finding aid for materials in the Charles Deering McCormick Library of Special Collections.
NULibraries Archival & Manuscript Collections
The finding aids in this database describe archival and manuscript materials held by various Northwestern University libraries.
Two page pdf describing materials in the Charles Deering McCormick Library of Special Collections.
Other Libraries >>
Mar 5, 2018 4:56 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
Gender and Sexuality Studies