Skip to main content

Geography: Physical Geography

About

Resources with emphasis on physical geography. Physical Geography is part of the discipline of "geography that deals with the exterior physical features and changes of the earth." (From Merriam-Webster's Collegiate(R) Dictionary)

Reference Tools

Dictionary of Physical Geography
David S.G. Thomas & Goudie, Andrew. Ed. (2006). Dictionary of Physical Geography. Oxford, UK : Blackwell Publishers.
Also available in print - location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating)  & MAIN Core (Non-circulating) 910.02 E56 2000

Encyclopedia of Coastal Science
Schwartz, Maurice L. Ed. (2005). Encyclopedia of Coastal Science. Dordrecht: Springer.

Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change
Philander, S. George.. Ed. (2005). Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications Inc.

Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences
Anderson, Malcolm G. (2008). Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons.

Encyclopedia of Soil Science
Rattan, Lai. Ed. (2008). Encyclopedia of Soil Science. New York: Marcel Dekker.

Encyclopedia of Soil Science
Chesworth, Ward. Ed. (2008). Encyclopedia of Soil Science. Dordrecht: Springer.

Encyclopedia of Water Science
Stanley W. Trimble. Ed. (2007). Encyclopedia of Water Science. New York : Marcel Dekker.

Encyclopedia of World Climatology
Oliver, John E. Ed. (2005). Encyclopedia of World Climatology. Dordrecht: Springer.

Water Encyclopedia
(2008). Water Encyclopedia. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons.

Key Resources

GeoRef (CSA)
GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences containing references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.

ScienceDirect
A database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available throught the Internet.

Wiley InterScience
A leading international resource for quality content promoting discovery across the spectrum of scientific, technical, medical and professional endeavors.

Selected Journals

Boreas [Philadelphia: Taylor & Francis]

Earth Surface Processes and Landforms  [Chichester: John Wiley & Sons]

Geografiska Annaler. Series A, Physical Geography [Stockholm: Svenska sällskapet för antropologi och geografi]

Geotechnical and Geological Engineering  [Andover, U.K.: Chapman & Hall]

Global Ecology and Biogeography  [Oxford: Blackwell Science]

Global Environmental Change [Oxford: Elsevier Science]

Human Ecology  [New York, NY: Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers]

Hydrological Processes  [Chichester: Wiley]

International Journal of Climatology  [Chichester: Royal Meteorological Society]

International Journal of Earth Sciences  [Heidelberg: Springer-Verlag]

Journal of Arid Environments  [London : Academic Press]

Journal of Biogeography  [Oxford: Blackwell Scientific Publications]

Journal of Geophysical Research   [Washington, DC: American Geophysical Union]

Journal of Glaciology  [Cambridge: British Glaciological Society]

Journal of Hydrology  [Amsterdam: Elsevier]

Journal of Hydrologic Engineering  [New York: American Society of Civil Engineering]

Journal of Marine Research  [New Haven, CO: Sears Foundation for Marine Research, Yale University]

Journal of Physical Oceanography  [Boston, MA: American Meteorological Society]

Journal of Seismology  [Dordrecht: Kluwer Academic Publishers]

Journal of Spatial Hydrology  [Cape Canaveral, FL: Ashok Verma]

Limnology and Oceanography  [Woods Hole, MA: American Society of Limnology and Oceanography]

Marine Policy  [Amsterdam: Elsevier Science]

Natural Hazards  [Dordrecht: Kluwer Academic Publishers]

Permafrost and Periglacial Processes  [Chichester: John Wiley & Sons]

Plant Ecology  [Dordrecht: Kluwer Academic Pub]

Progress in Oceanography  [Oxford: Elsevier Science]

Progress in Physical Geography  [London: Arnold]

Hydrology and Earth System Sciences  [Katlenburg-Lindau, Germany: European Geophysical Society]

Hydrological Sciences Journal [Oxford: International Association of Hydrological Sciences by Blackwell Scientifi]

Journal of Cave and Karst Studies  [Huntsville, AL: National Speleological Society]

Journal of Geosciences [Prague: Czech Geological Society]

Journal of Plant Ecology  [Oxford: Oxford university Press]

Subject Guide

Kelsey Rydland's picture
Kelsey Rydland
Contact:
1970 Campus Drive Evanston, IL
847.467.7189