Skip to main content

Geography: Human Geography

About

Resources with emphasis on human & cultural geography. Human Geography is "part of the discipline of geography concerned with the spatial differentiation and organization of human activity and its interrelationships with the physical environment." (From The Dictionary of Human Geography)

Reference Tools

Dictionary of Human Geography
Johnston, R. J. Ed. (2006). Dictionary of Human Geography. Oxford, UK : Blackwell Publishers.
Also available in print - location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) 910.3 D554 2000

Warf, Barney. Ed. (2006). Encyclopedia of human geography. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications.
Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating) 304.203 E557

Key Resources

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
Academic Search Premier is a scholarly, full text database designed for academic institutions. The database includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study.

Expanded Academic ASAP
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines.

ABI/INFORM Global (Proquest)
Search worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.

JSTOR
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

Selected Journals

Antipode: A Radical Journal of Geography  [Oxford: Blackwell Publishers.]

Cultural Geographies  [London: Arnold]

Gender, Place and Culture : A Journal of Feminist Geography  [Abingdon: Carfax Pub.]

Geographical Analysis  [Columbus, OH: Ohio State University Press]

Geografiska Annaler. Series B, Human Geography [Stockholm: Svenska sällskapet för antropologi och geografi]

Global Environmental Change [Oxford: Elsevier Science]

Environment and Planning A [London: Pion]

Journal of Cultural Geography  [Bowling Green, OH: Bowling Green State University]

Landscape and Urban Planning [Amsterdam: Elsevier Science]

Population, Space and Place [Chichester: John Wiley & Sons]

Progress in Human Geography  [London: Arnold]

Regional Studies  [London: Carfax]

Social & Cultural Geography  [London: Routledge]

Social Geography  [Germany: Copernicus GmbH]

Urban Geography  [Silver Spring, MD: V. H. Winston]

Social Geography Discussions [Germany: Copernicus GmbH]

ACME An International E-Journal for Critical Geographies [Kelowna, B.C.: Okanagan University College]

Subject Guide

Kelsey Rydland's picture
Kelsey Rydland
Contact:
1970 Campus Drive Evanston, IL
847.467.7189