Skip to main content

News Sources: Africana Newspapers

About the Africana Newspaper Collection

Northwestern University Library has an extensive collection of Africana newspapers that we receive currently and hold archivally. Many of our African newspaper titles arrive in bulk shipments or sporadically. Please contact the Circulation Desk for more information about particularly titles and detailed holdings.  Africana newspaper titles on microform may be requested from the Multimedia Center.

Currently Received Africana Newspaper Titles

Title Country of publication Newspaper Website
Addis Zemen Ethiopia http://ethpress.gov.et/
Adis Lesan Ethiopia n/a
African Tanzania n/a
African Society Canada n/a
Alaroye Nigeria n/a
L'Avenir Democratic Republic Congo http://www.groupelavenir.org/
Bôl'kotch Cote d'Ivoire n/a
Botswana Guardian Botswana http://www.botswanaguardian.co.bw/
Cameroon Tribune Cameroon https://www.cameroon-tribune.cm/
Chronic Chimurenga South Africa http://chimurengachronic.co.za/
City Press  [PD] South Africa http://www.citypress.co.za/
Coastweek Kenya http://www.coastweek.com/
Daily Graphic Ghana http://graphic.com.gh/
Daily Monitor Ethiopia n/a
Daily Monitor Uganda http://www.monitor.co.ug/
Daily Nation  [PD] Kenya http://www.nation.co.ke/
Daily News Botswana http://www.dailynews.gov.bw/
Daily News Tanzania http://www.dailynews.co.tz/
Daily Observer Liberia http://www.liberianobserver.com/
Daily Times Malawi http://timesmediamw.com/
East African [PD] Dar Es Salaam http://www.theeastafrican.co.ke/
Echos (daily ed.) Mali http://www.lesechos.ml
Echos (weekly ed.) Mali http://www.lesechos.ml
Elephant dechaine Côte d'Ivoire n/a
Endtime Journal Nigeria n/a
Ethiopian Herald Ethiopia http://www.ethpress.gov.et/herald/
L’Express Mauritius http://www.lexpress.mu/
Foroyaa Gambia http://www.foroyaa.gm/
Ghanaian News Canada n/a
Ghanaian Times Ghana http://www.ghanaiantimes.com.gh/
Guardian Nigeria http://www.ngrguardiannews.com/
Guardian  [PD] Tanzania http://www.guardian.co.tz/
Herald  [PD] Zimbabwe http://www.herald.co.zw/
Ika Weekly Nigeria http://www.ikaworld.com/
Independent Nigeria n/a
Informative Lesotho http://www.informativenews.co.ls/
Inquirer Liberia http://www.theinquirer.com.lr/
Islam Info Cote d'Ivoire n/a
Karibu Comoros http://www.karibu-hebdo.com/
Khetsi ea Limo Lesotho n/a
Lentsoe la Basotho Lesotho n/a
Leseli ka Sepolesa Lesotho n/a
Lesotho Times  [PD] Lesotho n/a
Lesotho Today Lesotho http://www.lestimes.com
Literaturnaia Rossiia Russia http://www.litrossia.ru/
Mail & Guardian  [PD] South Africa http://mg.co.za/
Malawi News Malawi http://bnltimes.com/
Maluti Lesotho n/a
Messager Cameroon https://www.cameroon-tribune.cm/
Metro Lesotho http://maserumetro.com
Moeletsi oa Basotho Lesotho n/a
Mololi Lesotho n/a
Mosotho Lesotho n/a
Mzalendo Tanzania http://mzalendo.net/
Namibia Economist Namibia http://www.economist.com.na/
Nation Benin http://www.lanationbenin.bj/
Nation Lesotho http://www.thenation.co.ls
Navigator Nigeria n/q
New Democrat Liberia http://www.newdemocrat.info/
New Era Namibia http://www.newera.com.na/
New Vision Uganda http://www.newvision.co.ug/
News on Sunday Mauritius http://www.defimedia.info/news-sunday.html
Newsday Lesotho n/a
Nigerian Canadian News Canada http://nigeriancanadiannews.ca/
Nigerian Tribune Nigeria http://www.tribune.com.ng/
Oloye News Nigeria n/a
Oodua News Nigeria n/a
People Seychelles n/a
People Daily Kenya http://mediamaxnetwork.co.ke/peopledaily/
Pink Tongue South Africa http://www.pinktongue.co.za/
Post Cameroon http://www.cameroonpostline.com/
Post Lesotho n/a
Post Zambia http://www.postzambia.com/
Prosperite Democratic Republic Congo http://www.laprosperiteonline.net/
Public Eye Lesotho http://www.publiceye.co.ls/
Punch  [PD] Nigeria http://www.punchng.com/
Rai  [PD] Tanzania http://www.rai.co.tz/
Reliance Nigeria n/a
Reminder Nigeria n/a
Renouveau du Burundi Burundi http://ppbdi.com/
Republicain Mali n/a
Sahel Niger http://www.lesahel.org/
Sahel dimanche Niger http://www.lesahel.org/
Sika'a Togo n/a
Southern Cross South Africa http://www.scross.co.za/
Sowetan South Africa http://www.sowetanlive.co.za/
Spectator Ghana http://www.spectator.newtimes.com.gh
Standard Kenya http://www.standardmedia.co.ke/
Sud Quotidien Senegal http://www.sudonline.sn/
Sunday Express  [PD] Lesotho n/a
Sunday Mail  [PD] Zimbabwe http://www.sundaymail.co.zw/
Taifa Leo  [PD] Kenya http://www.swahilihub.com/
Temoin Quotidien Senegal https://www.lequotidien.sn/
Times of Zambia Zambia http://www.times.co.zm/
Urhobo Voice Nigeria http://www.waado.org/urhobo_voice/urhobo_voice_home.html
Uhuru Tanzania http://uhurunewspaper.blogspot.com/
Vanguard Nigeria http://www.vanguardngr.com/
Voz Cape Verde n/a
Walf Quotidien Senegal http://www.walf-groupe.com/
Watan  [PD] Algeria http://www.elwatan.com/
Weekend Groove Nigeria n/a
[PD]= also available via Press Display    

Newspapers

 

Contact Info:
Periodicals and Newspapers Reading Room
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Dr.
Evanston, IL 60208
847-491-7633  (*Circulation Desk)
Send Email