Skip to main content
Faculty & Staff
Alumni & Visitors
Find, Borrow, Request
Catalogs & Search Tools
Explore our catalog, find databasess and journals, or locate books in our stacks.
View and access items set aside by your instructor.
Learn about our lending policies and procedures.
Requests & Interlibrary Loan
Request items from other libraries. Place holds on or request our items.
Scan or copy library materials.
Find subject experts who can guide your research.
Request a research consultation, instruction session or stop by our reference desk.
Scholarly Research Services
Get training and technical solutions for conducting and disseminating research.
Research Tools & Guides
Access databases, e-journals, research guides and more.
Contact a librarian via phone, email or instant message.
Find operating hours and assistance availability.
Events & Exhibits
Attend an exhibit, workshop or other events.
Visitor Privileges & Resources
Learn about guest access to materials and more.
Navigate our Libraries using our maps and book location guide.
Classrooms & Study Spaces
Reserve a study space, carrel, viewing room or classroom.
Technology and Computing
Use computer labs, printers, equipment and more.
Libraries & Collections
Reserve a Study Room
Printers and Printing
Book Location Guide
Libraries and Collections
University (Main) Library
Galter Health Sciences Library
Government & Geographic Information Collection
Herskovits Library of African Studies
McCormick Library of Special Collections
Mitchell Multimedia Center
Oak Grove Library Center
Pritzker Legal Research Center
Find facts, figures and procedures for our Libraries.
News & Announcements
Read about projects and more through our news and blogs.
Join our team as a librarian, staffer or student worker.
Learn about the working groups that make the Libraries run.
Support the Libraries
Donations of books, printed material or financial contributions are appreciated.
Contact the Library
Speak with a staffer, suggest a purchase or provide feedback.
Copyright for Musicians
Search this Guide
Music Research: Copyright for Musicians
Learn how to look for music in our collection, find music articles, access streaming audio databases, answer music copyright questions and more!!!
Streaming Audio & Video
Music Databases A to Z
Finding Music in Sets and Collections
Copyright for Musicians
Style Guides & Citation Manuals
General copyright information
Introduction and General Guidelines to Copyright
This page maintained by the NU main library begins to explain copyright in general terms, and can answer many common questions.
Copyright for Music Librarians
Good starting point for the kinds of copyright questions typically encountered using library materials
US Copyright Office
Many great resources on this site, including all publications of the copyright office
American Librayry Association Copyright Resources
ALA's portal to many great tools. The left side bar contains direct links on specific copyright issues
Fair Use Checklist
A handy PDF guide to help show how any use of copyright materials may have a strong (or weak) argument for fair use. Created by the University of Louisville.
Moser on Music Copyright - David J. Moser
Music copyright expert David J. Moser covers a wide range of copyright law as it pertains to music
Print edition: MREF ML 3790 .M675 M6
Music and Copyright
ML 70 .R67 M8
Music Instruction & Research Librarian
Style Guides & Citation Manuals >>
Dec 12, 2017 3:53 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.