Skip to main content
Faculty & Staff
Alumni & Visitors
Find, Borrow, Request
Catalogs & Search Tools
Explore our catalog, find databasess and journals, or locate books in our stacks.
View and access items set aside by your instructor.
Learn about our lending policies and procedures.
Requests & Interlibrary Loan
Request items from other libraries. Place holds on or request our items.
Scan or copy library materials.
Find subject experts who can guide your research.
Request a research consultation, instruction session or stop by our reference desk.
Scholarly Research Services
Get training and technical solutions for conducting and disseminating research.
Research Tools & Guides
Access databases, e-journals, research guides and more.
Contact a librarian via phone, email or instant message.
Find operating hours and assistance availability.
Events & Exhibits
Attend an exhibit, workshop or other events.
Visitor Privileges & Resources
Learn about guest access to materials and more.
Navigate our Libraries using our maps and book location guide.
Classrooms & Study Spaces
Reserve a study space, carrel, viewing room or classroom.
Technology and Computing
Use computer labs, printers, equipment and more.
Libraries & Collections
Reserve a Study Room
Printers and Printing
Book Location Guide
Libraries and Collections
University (Main) Library
Galter Health Sciences Library
Government & Geographic Information Collection
Herskovits Library of African Studies
McCormick Library of Special Collections
Mitchell Multimedia Center
Oak Grove Library Center
Pritzker Legal Research Center
Find facts, figures and procedures for our Libraries.
News & Announcements
Read about projects and more through our news and blogs.
Join our team as a librarian, staffer or student worker.
Learn about the working groups that make the Libraries run.
Support the Libraries
Donations of books, printed material or financial contributions are appreciated.
Contact the Library
Speak with a staffer, suggest a purchase or provide feedback.
History and Philosophy of Science and Technology
Search this Guide
History and Philosophy of Science and Technology: Biographical Information
American Men and Women of Science
Profiles of living American scientists, engineers, mathematicians, and other researchers.
Biographical Database of the British Chemical Community, 1880-1970
Biographical data on 4950 British chemists, compiled by Dr. Gerrylynn K Roberts and Dr. Robin Mackie, The Open University.
Biographical Memoirs of Fellows of the Royal Society
Biographies of deceased Fellows of the Royal Society, written by other Fellows.
Biographical Memoirs, National Academy of Sciences (U.S.)
Biographies of deceased members of the National Academy of Sciences, published since 1877.
Biographies of Mathematicians
Biographies of Women Mathematicians
Cambridge Dictionary of Scientists
Brief biographies, from a paragraph to a page or more, on over 1,500 scientists.
Catalog of the Scientific Community in the 16th and 17th Centuries
A collection of 631 detailed biographies on members of the scientific community during the 16th and 17th centuries with vital facts about each individual and their contributions to science, compiled by Richard S. Westfall.
Chemical Genealogy database
Chemical Genealogy traces the professional genealogies of chemists worldwide.
Science History Institute - Oral History Collection
Indexes and abstracts to oral history interviews conducted by the Chemical Heritage Foundation. Transcripts may be ordered from this site.
Contributions of 20th Century Women to Physics
Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Authoritative biographies, including references, of deceased scientists from all periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times.
Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography
IEEE Global History Network
History of electrical engineering, electronics and computing, and related fields.
IEEE History Center: Oral History Collection
IsisCB Explore History of Science Index
Use for bibliographical research in the history of science, technology, and medicine
Mathematical Genealogy Project
Traces the professional genealogies of mathematicians worldwide.
National Institutes of Health, Oral Histories
Index to individuals interviewed by NIH; transcripts may be requested via phone or e-mail.
Niels Bohr Library Oral Histories
Oral histories compiled at the Center for History of Physics of the American Institute of Physics. Includes transcripts and voice clips.
Nobel Prizes (Nobel Foundation web site)
Includes prize-winners autobiographies, Nobel addresses, and other resources
Physicist's "Family Trees"
Traces the professional genealogies of physicists, particularly in high-energy physics.
The Faces of Science: African Americans in the Sciences
Brief biographies arranged by subject area, with references.
2233 Tech Drive
Evanston, Illinois 60208
Communication Sciences and Disorders
Data and Data Management
Earth and Planetary Sciences
Mar 13, 2018 11:20 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
history of science