Skip to main content

Information Systems: Reference

Using These Tools

These materials can provide a source of background information as well as additional readings. They can also be a good place to start when you are beginning research in an area you are unfamiliar with.

Reference Tools

Artificial Intelligence: A Beginner's Guide
Schaffner Library Call Number: 006.3 W579ar
Circulating Collection
This title introduces the reader to what artifical intelligience (AI) is and is not. The author also examines pllications of artificial intelligence, how AI is inspired by biology, and future trends in AI.

Computer Glossary: The Complete Illustrated Dictionary
Schaffner Library Call Number: 004.0321 F853c 2001
Reference Collection
Made up of over 6,000 entries, this work defines computer terms and concepts. Covered are the latest developments in the Internet and wireless communication as well as information about Windows, Macintosh, and Unix.

Computer Sciences
Schaffner Library Call Number: 004 C73798
Reference Collection
A four volume work aimed at a general audience, this title looks at the history of computer science as well as key concepts and influential figures.

Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology
Schaffner Library Call Number: L 004.03 H496e
Reference Collection
This single volume encyclopedia includes the history of computing, descriptions of different types of computers, and biographies. Entries include a brief bibliography along with some black and white illustrations.

Database Design for Mere Morals: A Hands On Guide to Relational Database Design
Schaffner Library Call Number: 005.756 H557d 2003
Circulating Collection
The author looks at the basic principles behind relational database design. Platform independent, this book contains real-world examples and detailed explanations.

Linked: The New Science of Networks
Schaffner Library Call Number: 003 B223l
Circulating Collection
Author Albert-Laszlo Barabasi traces the history of connected systems, beginning with Swiss mathematician Leonhard Euler's first forays into graph theory in the late 1700s to biologists' development of cancer drugs based on a new understanding of cellular networks.

Mathematics and Physics for Programmers
Schaffner Library Call Number: 510.24005 K76m
Circulating Collection
The author aims to give programmers a thorough understanding of the mathematics and physics they will need in game development and other applications. The title comes with a CD-ROM with simulations of the mathematical and physical principles discussed.

Storage Networks: The Complete Reference
Schaffner Library Call Number: 004.6 S734s
Computer Collection
Divided into seven parts, this guide examines a number of storage networks, including SAN, NAS, Fibre Channel, file systems, virtualization, database storage, and snapshots. This reference book is aimed at the storage professional.

Contact Me

Tracy Coyne's picture
Tracy Coyne
Contact:
312.503.6617
tracy-coyne@northwestern.edu
339 E. Chicago Ave., 2nd Floor
Chicago, IL 60611