Skip to main content

Public Policy: Government Information

This guide includes resources that can be useful for those seeking information in public policy.

Help Locating Government Information

Looking for help locating government information and using search resources provides by the federal government? Take a look at the following videos.

Sources for Government Information

Proquest Congressional
This resource provides congressional publications on key American public policy issues including foreign affairs, crime, national security, transportation, the economy, commerce, public health, the environment, and education. It also includes the full text of proposed legislation and its status in the legislative process and the full text of recently signed law. Lexis Nexis also provides information about current members of Congress and Congressional committees, and features a Hot Topics section.

USA.gov
Called the U.S. government's official web portal, this site allows usrs to search for information across all federal agencies, as well as at the local and state levels.

Congress.gov
This site, formerly known as Thomas.gov, from the Library of Congress provides legislative information including bill tracking, presidential nominations, the text of committee reports, and other information.

CQ Press Political Reference Suite
This resource pulls togather a number of resource that provide information analyzing legislation that has been considered, congressional action, Supreme Court decisions, and other information.

CQ Voting and Elections Collection: Expert Analysis, Demographics, and Data
The Voting and Elections Collection integrates data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a research and reference tool on voting and elections in America. From the American voter, to major and minor political parties, to actual races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships, the collection provides context-driven intelligence on the state of elections in America.

Contact Me

Qiana Johnson's picture
Qiana Johnson
Contact:
1970 Campus Dr.
Evanston, IL 60208
847.491.2229
Social:YouTube Page